Home > Just For Fun > A Very Serious Silly Question

A Very Serious Silly Question

Some time ago, I was in the middle of a discussion that was concentrated on where and when we read books.  I have books all over my house that I am reading or longing to read.  And yes, one of the places that I have books is the ‘library’ – that room where the throne stands alone.  Or does it sit?

Anyway, I mentioned that I did a lot of reading in the ‘library’ and my friend Kenny made a statement about how he wouldn’t read the Bible while on the throne.  He said that it just didn’t seem right to do so.

Ok.  So here are my questions:

Do you think its inappropriate to read the bible while sitting on the throne? Why or why not?

And what other activities would be inappropriate to do while reading the bible?

AND…… GO!

  1. May 21, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I don’t think it matters where you read the Bible. I have been known to fall asleep while reading it. Does that make it bad? Or boring? 🙂 No just that I was tired. the Bible does say, “Be ready. In season and out of season. I would say that reading the Bible at any time or place would be okay. My .02 worth.

    On that second question: how about reading the Song of Solomon while trying to seduce your wife? Just asking! 🙂

    • May 21, 2009 at 6:40 pm

      Hmm… Songs of Solomon to seduce my wife… sounds very intriguing.

      I wonder how should we take her neck being compared to a tall tower? Or her ‘other parts’ to clusters of grapes? I can just hear it.

      “Don’t be gettin no plans to be makin no welch’s!!”

  2. May 21, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    A man went to his priest and asked, “Father, may I smoke while I pray?”
    “Of course not my son,” he was told. “That would be completely inappropriate.”

    The man left, disheartened. He told his friend what he’d been told, and the friend said to him, “Don’t worry, I’ll sort this out.”

    The friend approached the same priest, and asked, “Father, may I pray while I smoke?”

    “Of course my son, you can pray anytime.”

    And that’s all I have to say about that.

    <

    • May 21, 2009 at 6:29 pm

      are you saying this is a matter of perspective? 😉

  3. May 21, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Okay, seriously. I can’t believe I spelled my name wrong in the comment above.

    >

    • May 21, 2009 at 6:30 pm

      The fins get in the way when typing.. I quite understand how it could happen.

  4. May 22, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Q1. – possibly not THE most ‘appropriate’ place – but if you have the ‘time’ and the inclination and you get something that lifts your spirit while getting rid of the crap – then i don’t see a problem. It would be a matter of personal taste/perspective more than ‘thou shalt not…’ i’m sure not one of the 623 laws of man in the Torah (OT) forbids it! 😉
    (i’m doing my level best to avoid the ‘Holy Sht’ reference!)

    Q2. Definitely not while driving down to the local Walmart!

    nor while undertaking any dangerous activity that requires 100% attention, such as: Tightrope walking over Niagara Falls;
    hunting for lions, tigers, polar bears, and the like;
    scuba diving in shark infested waters;
    walking through a Cow Pasture, etc.

    🙂

    <B

    • May 22, 2009 at 1:58 pm

      You definitely have to watch your step when the ‘chips’ are down. 🙂

      I have seen a man walk between buildings near the Niagara falls but he was not reading a bible while doing so. I have an inkling that he would agree with your advice. And you are probably right that the bible is the wrong type of sword to go ahuntin’ bear.

    • May 22, 2009 at 3:26 pm

      lol…while doing a study on the humanity of Jesus, someone brought up the fact that He, just like any other human, had to relieve himself.

      gave a whole new meaning to the term ‘holy crap’.

      • May 22, 2009 at 3:31 pm

        Was this a ladies or mixed study?

      • May 22, 2009 at 3:40 pm

        mixed.

      • May 22, 2009 at 3:43 pm

        I am going to guess that it was a man that brought up that point. I could be wrong but it just seems the type of thinking that we would do.

        Please feel free to fill in more details of the conversation.

      • May 22, 2009 at 7:58 pm

        it was a girl, actually. a hilariously tacky girl.

  5. May 22, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Hrm… I do everything in ‘the library’. I twitter, blog, read, pray, everything. In a 600 Sq. Ft. apartment, it’s my happy place.

    Sometimes I just have to light a match and a candle.. (Yes. Both)

  6. May 22, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    lemme just say i don’t understand the male obsession with reading while on ‘the throne’. get in, get out.

    read on the couch.

    • May 22, 2009 at 3:30 pm

      Its probably because while you are reading on the couch your husband isn’t interrupting you every 2 minutes to ask about what color of flowers to plant in the front garden, what you would like for dinner, asking whether or not the pants he is wearing makes his hips look big, or a myriad of other types of questions that WON’T get asked in the throne room.

      Its the one place that the family won’t follow and interrupt the goings on. 🙂

      If that happens at your house then there may be issues… just saying. 😉

      • May 22, 2009 at 3:43 pm

        oh, there is no room off limits in MY house.

      • May 22, 2009 at 3:45 pm

        hmm… I don’t even know how to respond to that.

        So, he is there doing the ‘duty’ and you walk on in to have a conversation?

      • May 22, 2009 at 3:48 pm

        oh yes. and he HATES it. i’ve cut back on how much i do it…to be a nice wife. but at the same time…it wouldn’t happen if the Y chromosome didn’t apparently cause yall to take FOR. EV. ER.

      • May 22, 2009 at 3:54 pm

        🙂

        This is just too funny. I can picture you standing there with your hand over your face trying to carry on a conversation with your husband while he is just wishing you would go away – holding a bible in one hand and bologna sandwich in the other. {I don’t know where that image came from .. actually I do.. I had a friend that would make a sandwich when he was going to the potty… his mom would yell up the stairs, “Jimmy, stop doing that! You’re feeding the devil!”}

      • May 22, 2009 at 4:11 pm

        a sandwich???????? that’s just plain nasty. MEN!

      • May 22, 2009 at 4:54 pm

        You ever chew bubble gum whilst in the water closet?

      • May 22, 2009 at 8:00 pm

        no way. i even have rules about brushing the teefers. no going while i’m brushing. period. put the seat down so the germies don’t fly everywhere. etc.

      • May 22, 2009 at 10:31 pm

        i do, however, talk on the phone in there! lol. i can bend the rules on that, apparently.

    • May 23, 2009 at 5:35 am

      hahahahahahaha! 😀

      Seriously – i love the humour; you two are hilarious – you should sell tickets!

      (Just be sure you make it in a bigger ‘venue’ – ‘k? 🙂 )

      <B

      • May 23, 2009 at 9:53 pm

        funny story, while we’re on the subject:

        when landry and i first got married, i was on birth control. apparently it really affected me emotionally, because when landry started going to the restroom and locking the door, i’d throw myself on the bed, sobbing and yelling “YOU’RE LOCKING ME OUT OF YOUR LIFE!!!!!!”

        lol. the poor guy was scared for his life, i’m sure.

        (side note: my doctor must have been an idiot because he gave this five-foot-two-never-been-on-a-medication-in-her-life little girl the 2nd highest possible dosage of BC that you could get. i think i cried and/or screamed every day for a month before i wisened up and got off it).

      • May 24, 2009 at 6:18 am

        Are you COMPLETELY sure that was the result of the meds???? 😯

        I’m just sayin’ i seen you do some weird stuff in blogland is all 😉

        Still loves ya tho’, Homey 🙂

        (and you look much better blonde and without the stubble)! 😉

        <B

  7. May 22, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Well if we’re looking for God to penetrate every moment of our lives, I would think the thought of desiring to gain the knowledge and the wisdom of his words no matter what we’re doing is actually kind of cool.

    While it’s not a strong analogy, my first instinct in saying reading the bible on the john isn’t right is like the major discussion saying we shouldn’t let emotions drive our worship… seems like we’re leaving stuff out from God. God loves our toilets, too. And regardless if it says it… Jesus was 100% man too… he knows. Oh, he knows.

    • May 22, 2009 at 3:57 pm

      Reading the book John whilst on the John? 😉

      And what if your name is John.

      “Hey, Susie, where is your husband?”

      “Oh, You know John, he’s always on the john reading John.”

      That person would have to be called “John Boy” thereafter.

  8. May 22, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Magazines. Not one for epic reading whist upon the throne. My husband? That man could read War and Peace in there…

    • May 22, 2009 at 3:58 pm

      But would it be ok for him to read the good book whilst perched upon the throne?

  9. May 22, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    It’s a good question, and one I’ve considered myself. I think it’s okay if one of the places you read the Bible is on the throne. But if that’s the ONLY time and place you read it…that might not be okay. That’s where I draw the line. 🙂

  10. May 22, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    I dunno…I would really prefer he not read Song of Soloman in there…

  11. May 22, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Wow, this is quite the conversation. I don’t think it would be inappropriate really. I would just be extra careful. I don’t really read in the bathroom though, apparently I may be in the minority of guys like that…

  12. May 22, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    No crapping and praying at the same time! You refer to God as a “He”, right? Well, no male spends bathroom time with me. Privacy, people, privacy…

  13. Don Smith
    May 22, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    We have two thrones that are in use at various times by me in our house. My general feeling is, I don’t have the time to read in the throneroom. I generally am in and out as quickly as humanly possible. I don’t hide in there, I don’t answer a cell phone, pray, read, text, twitter, blog or talk to people outside the door. I will say that we have a Pittsburgh Steeler calendar in the one throneroom and I do read the trivia on the calendar, which only takes a moment. I find no comfort or pleasure from reading in the throneroom. It is 95% of the time for one thing and that is what I use it for. IN…OUT.

    • May 23, 2009 at 3:01 am

      Don,

      This reminds me of the conversation we had about the test question you had on whether the shower had more than one use. Your engineering/mechanical side shows though with this comment… which is really cool… like the fact that you are commenting on a blog!

  14. May 22, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Coming back to the question posed earlier about the male obsession with reading in the john, I think it goes hand in hand with the female obsession with going in groups.

    For woman it’s a time of sharing and bonding.
    For men it’s time to lock the door, and be alone for a while.

    If men go to the bathroom in groups, they are having a barbeque in there.

    • May 23, 2009 at 3:01 am

      mmmm.. barbecue.

      Is there ever a bad time or place to have a barbecue?

      • May 23, 2009 at 5:42 am

        ‘Thou shalt not have a barbie in the bog’ !!!

        Neither shalt thy mates gather in there to drink beer and talk about women with thee.

        Its in Deuteronomy somewhares, i think??

        Probably best not to consume food of any kind in there either – Chewing gum may be an exception that proves the rule??

        Or was it Leviticus? 🙂

        <B

      • May 23, 2009 at 5:21 pm

        I think you mean ‘DUDEeronomy’.

        Hilarious!

        🙂

  15. May 22, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Sharkie, and I wouldn’t eat a thing they cooked!
    Tell Nick the Geek where you live. He wants something more specific than “Australia”. Tried to give me a geography lesson..as if I didn’t learn it in School. Talk to the Geek, please.

  16. May 22, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    So it’s come to this, huh? The smartypants blog comments section is just overflowing everywhere. It was only a matter of time. Sorry you had to witness this in your lovely bible reading toilet post.

    • May 23, 2009 at 3:05 am

      kat,

      that comment made me happy on so many levels. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment