Home > Church Hunt > Jim-N-Caspar Central Ohio Style

Jim-N-Caspar Central Ohio Style

Our lives are made of many chapters.  Some are longer than others and some are celebrated where others leave us no desire to return for a review.  My family has turned the page to a new chapter in our collective lives and it is with some unknown expectations that we take the next steps.  The chapter that we are closing has been a welcome one.  In it we experienced a lot of beauty with friends and family created in a church community and while we don’t close the chapter on those friends and family, we understand that the backdrop for this new chapter is different.  And different is foreign.

I don’t know about you, but when I have visited foreign lands I have tried to look for what I can appreciate about that place.  I want to soak in all the experiences so that I can detail them later to friends who are interested in those aspects of my life.

And, so, with this new chapter, I want to do something that brings part of that mentality to the process.  I am going to ask my family to assist me with creating a blog series about the churches that we will be visiting in the coming weeks.  This idea comes from a book titled, “Jim and Caspar go to church” in which the authors visit churches and examine the components that make up each experience.  My wife, Heather, and my daughters, Lauren(17) and Brianna (12), will be asked questions about their experiences while we are about our visits.  As for myself, I will create a matrix of questions to try to answer concerning each church, like:

  • Size
  • Denomination
  • Worship Style
  • Sermon style (exegetical vs topical; edification vs evangelistic and so on)
  • Small group structure
  • Activities centered on families with children
  • Missiology
  • Statement of faith

And so on.  Now, I hope to remove a lot of chaff by visiting websites if the church has one and looking to see if their faith statements are in line with some key theological points before visiting.  I will be giving this post series more thought as we approach our first visit this Sunday.  Our plans at this time are to visit a Xenos fellowship that meets in the school building located behind our house.

If there are questions that you would like me to try to answer about any of the upcoming visits that we plan on making, please leave them here and I will do my best to include them in my matrix for evaluation.

Please understand that our chief concern is to find where the Holy Spirit would have us go.  The blessings and gifts that God has been gracious to give our family are meant to edify His church and we are looking to follow His will in this process.   To those friends that we now count as family among our previous church home, we still look forward to many fellowships in the future.  You are forever a part of our lives… and who knows how God will lead?

  1. January 19, 2010 at 6:12 pm | #1

    This is fantastic Tony! What an awesome opportunity you have to do something so unique. Sort of like one of those secret shoppers. I sometimes wish i could do this but one of the hazards of my job is being there! :) I have a church or two I would like to see you visit so contact me if interested. Hope the parting was a good one.

    • January 19, 2010 at 6:15 pm | #2

      Bill, by all means please forward any places that you think would be a good candidate for our family to visit.

      I will try to get you an email later this evening if time allows to remind you to fill me in on the places to visit.

  2. January 19, 2010 at 11:23 pm | #3

    Sounds like you’ve got church shopping down to a science! Better than the guy who just wanders around until some church ‘feels right.’

    • January 20, 2010 at 4:03 am | #4

      Sounds like you may have some experience in that area :)

  3. January 21, 2010 at 9:51 pm | #5

    Tony -

    I’d love for you to come visit my church in Westerville, OH and let me know what you think. website: http://www.heritagecc.org

    Peace,

    • January 21, 2010 at 10:19 pm | #6

      Richard,

      Thanks for the link. Will hopefully get a chance to work through it this evening and listen to some of the audio.

  1. January 26, 2010 at 6:51 pm | #1
  2. February 24, 2010 at 2:41 am | #2

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

