Archive

Archive for October 10, 2011

Monday Morning Musings #1

October 10, 2011 5 comments

In order to force myself into some form of consistency with my blogging, I am going to introduce a theme for Mondays centered on the ridiculous questions that entertain my mind from time-to-time.

Today’s question is this:

What do you think goes through God’s mind as He looks down on a singular man or woman that He has created and watches them progress through life from birth to death?

I would give two proof texts from scripture to consider while pondering an answer to this question.  Both texts come from the book of Psalms.

When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, The moon and the stars, which You have ordained; What is man that You take thought of him, And the son of man that You care for him?  Psalms 8:3-4

You have searched me and known me.You know when I sit down and when I rise up; You understand my thought from afar. You scrutinize my path and my lying down, And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.Even before there is a word on my tongue, Behold, O LORD, You know it all. You have enclosed me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; It is too high, I cannot attain to it. Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence? If I ascend to heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there. Psalms 139:1-8

David was a thinker.  In the first quote he seems to contemplate the absurdity of an immense, perfect God taking notice of what could seem insignificant in comparison. But then when we read his thoughts from the second quote, we see that he has reasoned that God has taken very close attention to the details of his life.

And so I reason 3ooo years removed from David’s musings, that this question is significantly answered or sought by each individual who contemplates their position in a world not their choosing under the watchful gaze of a God not fully realized.  The sufferings, the blessings, the acts of life that we must entertain as we move from birth to the eventuality of death – what do these mean to the God who created us for those moments?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.