Home > Questions > What do we do now, James?

What do we do now, James?

One of the first verses that I committed to memory after being asked to teach was James 3:1.

Let not many {of you} become teachers, my brethren, knowing that as such we will incur a stricter judgment.

Quite frankly, its a verse that scares the bajeebies out of me.  If I stand in front of someone and exhort God’s word in hopes that they apply and follow it, then I am standing as a vessel of His spoken word.  That is heavy – many times its too heavy for me and it is only through His grace and love that I can perform in that capacity.  You see, I am human just like the people that I am trying to teach God’s word.  I don’t know that they understand that before I have spoken to them, I have had to look in the mirror that is God’s word.  I don’t always like what I see there and I know that they are likely to have some of the same issues when faced with those truths.

I can’t change that truth,  or water it down, or leave pieces out that might be hard to swallow.  One day I am going to stand in judgment for what I have done with the gifts that God has given me.  James has told me that teaching is an area that I will be held to higher accountability.  To not teach would be a great sin, just check out the parable of the talents but on the other hand to teach and mess it up isn’t that great of a prospect either.

Man, I love God’s word and the desire is there to share it with other people.  I want them to know the truth, they need to know the truth.

Check out these lyrics from Mercy Me’s song, ‘Word of God Speak’:

I’m finding myself at a loss for words
And the funny thing is it’s okay
The last thing I need is to be heard
But to hear what You would say

[CHORUS]
Word of God speak
Would You pour down like rain
Washing my eyes to see
Your majesty
To be still and know
That You’re in this place
Please let me stay and rest
In Your holiness
Word of God speak

I’m finding myself in the midst of You
Beyond the music, beyond the noise
All that I need is to be with You
And in the quiet hear Your voice

There are times that I need just that, “not to be heard”.  I just want to hear but then I am like Jeremiah and God’s word is a like a fire shut up in my bones.  His truth must be taught and it must be taught with integrity especially by those called to teach and preach.

Sounds pretty straightforward, doesn’t it?  I mean, just teach it and preach it.

If James were around to answer some questions, I would ask him what a teacher is to do when their integrity comes under fire.  Maybe Paul would be able to help because he is the one that wrote that a leader should be above reproach when he was advising Timothy.

So guys, what’s the answer? My 30 seconds are just about up.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

