Home > Life Thoughts > Girl, you’ll be a woman soon

Girl, you’ll be a woman soon

Brianna and I at Rock City

Brianna and I at Rock City

My youngest daughter, Brianna, is only 11 but she has already outgrown her mother in height.  She is also more mature for her age than a lot of her couterparts.  That may be because she has been part of the process of taking care of her older sister, Lauren.  A task she never chose but one we chose for her when my wife and I decided to have a second child.

Brianna is going to be a lot like her mother and I when it comes to temperament because she is showing the signs of a strong and independent will.

She is growing so fast.  It won’t be long before she will be doing all the things that her sister never had an interest in; dating, driving, make-up & hair, college, and of course, more dating.  One day she will bring that ‘Mr. Right’ home for her mother and I to meet.  Then who knows, maybe a grandchild or three will be visiting Heather and I.

Some may think that I am starting too early with these thoughts but I would counter that it was just yesterday that she was laying on my chest with that new baby smell tickling my nose.  I can’t tell you how much I miss being able to hold her like that but I wouldn’t trade it for who she is today and the relationship that I have with her.  My point is that time moves so quickly.  Its also important to realize that this period of her life is where I can have the most impact in shaping who she will become in the future.

Its such a conviction and a blessing to know that she needs her daddy right now.  One day she will ‘cleave unto another’ and, while she will still be my daughter, she will be influenced by someone else that has a more intimate relationship with her.

God, help me be the daddy she needs today so that she can be the woman you desire her to be tomorrow.

We as parents have so much influence that we just throw away.  What’s our excuse?

I spoke with my wife a couple of nights ago concerning Brianna.  The gist of the conversation was that I think its time to start having ‘father-daughter’ dates with her – time that I carve out of my schedule to make her feel special because she IS special.  As her father, if I don’t do that, someone else will and it may not be the influence that I want in her life.

My wife’s response to the conversation was simply, “Its about time you listened to me.”

Yeah, she is the smart one that’s why I love her.

How about you fathers out there – you got some advice for me that you have learned raising your daughters?

  1. March 8, 2009 at 5:27 am

    I don’t have any advice. But this is encouraging for me. Cause I know one day I will have a girl I will go on daddy dates with. Oh gosh.. I’m getting old.

  2. tam
    March 31, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    hi. i just came over and was perusing your blog here and, among many, this post caught my attention.

    my oldest will be 15 in april. she, like your daughter, is very mature and grown up for her age. wise beyond her years. i dont even remember all the details that got her here. i must have blinked. i highly discourage blinking now.

    dad and daughter actually have a date this friday night. he will model for her the man that she should look for. he will open doors for her, treat her with gentleness, listen to her, laugh with her, respect her, speak highly of and to her and model Christ.

    dads opportunities, like this, will soon come to an end. they need to be taken advantage of as often as possible. it is a valued, life giving gift that our little girls deserve.

    you sound like a phenomenal dad! your heart here int his post shows that very clearly. it was refreshing to read…thank you!

    • April 1, 2009 at 3:32 pm

      thanks, tam, for stopping by. your husband is the one that sounds like the phenomenal dad! I am still learning that role.

      • tam
        April 1, 2009 at 5:48 pm

        well…its not like he doesnt sit on her from time to time and, ya know…and do that gross thing that guys do

        😯

  3. April 1, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    that is also part of the education process… in every man is a little boy still trying to get out. Some of us are just less able to hold the little boy back.

    🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

