Home > Poetry > Square Dancing on Round Wheels

Square Dancing on Round Wheels

I wrote the following piece several years ago based on a memory of my oldest daughter and I going to an Indian Princess square dance.

Square Dancing on Round Wheels

Strange strains of music
escape
to be collected
by curious ears.

Night air,
circling,
swirling,
handing off
partnered feelings.

Clasping hands
we enter the lighted hall.

She is all smiles
in pigtails
as she watches
this dervish delight.

I can sense her yearning
to be a spoke –
a spoke
in this colorful wheel.

She is tiny
sitting in her chair.
Forever sentenced
to four wheels
of her own.

But…
not tonight.

I lift her
from mired desires.
We swing into
a dos-a-dos.

She giggles
as we spin.
Shining eyes
illuminate
my darkest reaches.

Little hands
play the air
touching the notes,
composing her own symphony.

The joy of the dance
belongs to her.
She is grace
as she directs its
crash and ebb.

The music slows
and the caller is silent.
I give her a final dip
and we stand
center of the circle.

I am her legs
but she is my heart.

  1. March 30, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Dude, you changed your site. It’s been too long since I read your blog. I will subscribe. Now that I am done crying, nice peom.

    • March 30, 2009 at 5:05 pm

      I had deleted my old one because I was spending too much time on it and it was interfering with family life. Unfortunately when you delete a blog, you can’t reactivate it and so all my old stuff is gone forever. I am doing this one as I have time so I don’t update it is as much.

      Good to see you, Jody.. I hope things are well with you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

