Home > 2nd Chances > For Men Only

For Men Only

Don’t worry if you are a lady, you are welcome to read this post.  I titled the post in this manner because I am becoming increasingly aware of a huge issue in our churches.  Men are missing or are unplugged at a higher rate than that of the ladies.  One statistic states that the average mix of congregants on a Sunday morning is 61% female to 39% male.

I know that in my own church there is an active women’s ministry but the men’s ministry has remained mostly inactive or non-existent for as long as I have been a member.

Tonight I am going to meet with a few men about a ‘study’ group.  I am feeling convicted to challenge them to be so much more.  I don’t know that many men are attracted to a circle study on subjects found in books.  My experience has been there are few men impassioned by a deep dive into the Greek meanings behind the study of the church.  However, put a wrench or hammer in a man’s hand and all of a sudden 2 or 3 men are likely to pop up to lend a hand.

I am going to challenge the men tonight to define what it is our little group is supposed to be.  This is outside of my comfort zone and I know that this isn’t going to go anywhere unless God steps in supplies the energy and focus.  Its a scary place to be and, at the same time, invigorating.

If you have a vibrant men’s group, I would love to receive advice on what makes your’s work so well.

**** Update ****

Last night was Awesome!  There were 5 of us that met for the first meeting and we never cracked a book or a bible…. imagine that!

Instead we talked about masculinity and what that means, where each of us are and a little about where we hope to go.  It was a night of inspiration and challenges.  It was a night of just getting to know each other on a manly level.  I challenged them to go home and think about what it would have been like to be one of the disciples that spent so much time with Christ.  What it was REALLY like… not the pictures on the wall with good wavy hair leaning on each other’s sholders.  I gave them one other homework assignment – next week bring a raw steak with them.  I am going to set up a grill at the church and we will stand around it and cook our steaks while we discuss the question about what being a disciple looked like.  (I am half tempted not to bring any eating utensils 🙂 ).

I am already looking forward to next week!

Categories: 2nd Chances Tags: , , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. April 16, 2009 at 8:00 am

Leave a comment