Home > In The News > For Susans Who Can’t Sing

For Susans Who Can’t Sing

I am like many of you.

Engrossed.

Engrossed by the story that is surrounding Susan Boyle; the lady in Britain’s Got Talent tv show who blew everyone away because the delivery didn’t match the package.  If you don’t know the story, enter her name into any search engine and you will not lack for links to click.

While everyone has been high-lighting the age-old adage about not judging a book by its cover, I want to suggest that we are forgetting something much deeper.  Why do we give Susan so much more credit as someone with worth simply because she can sing well?  Shouldn’t she have had that value regardless?

I mean, we are still valuing her for what we can get out of her instead of who she is.  The fact that she sings so beautifully draws us to her – but that is simply a talent or skill.  It is not her.  God didn’t love Susan because she could sing anymore than God loved someone else because they had physical beauty.

Why did Susan have to sing so beautifully in order to get respect for being a fellow human being?

This thought has been convicting to me.   While I celebrate the beauty in Susan’s singing, I have to wonder about the people who we devalue on appearance or station in life that don’t have something to give us so that they can be redeemed in our eyes.

Brandon Heath has a song that says, “Give me your eyes for just one second”, that speaks to his desire to see the people around him from God’s perspective.  I love the lines in that song that follow that request:

Give me your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me your love for humanity
Give me your arms for the broken-hearted
Ones that are far beyond my reach.
Give me your heart for the ones forgotten
Give me your eyes so I can see

If we only celebrate Susan Boyle because she can sing, we have missed the point entirely.

  1. April 16, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Amen, Tony! I pray that prayer every single day..

    Give me your eyes so I can see
    Everything that I keep missing
    Give me your love for humanity
    Give me your arms for the broken hearted
    Ones that are far beyond my reach.
    Give me your heart for the ones forgotten
    Give me your eyes so I can see

    • April 17, 2009 at 3:08 am

      Thank You, Camey. We need to be reminded constantly to have our eyes open to those around us.

  2. April 16, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more, Tony.

    I served in the bus ministry at another church, plus we did door to door evangelism. I was always amazed because it was very seldom the poised, professional, pretty people that God used. It was the ordinary who had set aside their agenda and gotten on God’s agenda.

    Great post.

    • April 17, 2009 at 3:09 am

      Tommy,

      Do you think that maybe that there is some character that is built in obscurity?

  3. April 16, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Hit the nail on the head Tony! Susan and others “like her” (in the looks department) or anyone for that matter are important not because they can sing or play or flash a smile that knocks people dead but because they matter to God. We need to see people through God’s eyes as the song says. Thanks for those lyrics.

  4. April 16, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Hey Man, I like your comments on Pete’s blog, so I thought I’d check out yours. Good words!

    • April 17, 2009 at 3:10 am

      Joey,

      I appreciate you coming over and visiting me. Thank you.

  5. April 16, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Came over from Pete’s as well. I love your perspective. And the song. “Give me your heart for the ones forgotten…” Convicted.

    • April 17, 2009 at 3:11 am

      Thank you, Candy. I enjoyed your comments at Pete’s place as well.

  6. April 16, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Thanks for this perspective. I love your heart for your daughter, in your comments over at WW. As a mom of a special needs child, I find that you said there and here so well what many of us struggle to put into words. It was beautiful. Thank you.

    • April 17, 2009 at 3:12 am

      Only repeating the lessons that God has brought me through. And He has done so with such grace in my life. Thank you for your kind words.

  7. April 17, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    I’m not sure there is character built in, but I think having our vanity
    temptation removed allows us to be more genuine and authentic.

    Tony, that’s a thought provoking question. I’m going to have to cogitate on that further. lol

    • April 17, 2009 at 3:07 pm

      Maybe I should have said “Do you think that character is developed through obscurity?” Paul went to Arabia for several years before starting his ministry. Just thinking out loud… as it were.

  8. April 18, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Yes, I do. Instant stardom has ruined many people who weren’t properly grounded. Often that grounding can only be accomplished in times of quiet away from the distractions of those who would praise us and pat us on the back. Steel is hardened in the fire that forces us to examine ourselves and look up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

