Home > Life Thoughts, Uncategorized > I go out walking…

I go out walking…

Our church got involved with the Rescue Event this past weekend in order to raise awareness about the Invisible Children (Joseph Kony’s child soldiers).   The event started at 3pm at the Ohio State campus and included a march of about 2 to 3 miles to an open field where those involved would spend the night under the stars.  This was a symbolic act that represented the forced march that the children abducted by Joseph Kony would have to endure.

When I say our church, I mean our youth in the 7-12 grades and some adults that were necessary to chaperon them.  The leadership decided that a more representative march could be realized if we all started from the church and walked to the event.  That is an 18 mile walk that had to be completed by 3pm.

We started at about 8:40am which means we had to average close to 3 mph if we were to reach the event in time.  That is a tough pace to keep up for 6 hours.

I was very proud of all those involved because they DID it!  At a cost.  I don’t know if anyone escaped blisters, sun burns(87 degree sunny day), and aching muscles.  And that was just in the first 18 miles.  We had an hour break to rest up once we got to the actual event before making the last 2-3 mile trek around the campus of Ohio State.  That has got to be one of the longest 2-3 miles any of those involved ever walked.

Our ending point was a soccer field where we would all sleep beneath the open sky.  I can’t speak for everyone, but that was a rough night of trying to sleep.  Imagine waking up lying on wet grass and its cold enough to see your breath.  That happened around 1am – after finally falling asleep around midnight.  That was kind of depressing because at that point sleep seemed impossible and morning was an eternity away.

This thought kept going through my mind during the walk and during the long sleepless night…

I can check out anytime.

I had access to water and food anytime I needed it.  I had adequate clothing and bedding for my 24 hour inconvenience.  But the biggest difference between myself and those children in Uganda was that I had the ability to get on my phone and call my wife to come and get me anytime I was fed up with the experience.

I cannot imagine the hopelessness that those abducted children experience or the terror.  I kept praying throughout the experience that God would comfort those children and bring hope to their lives that no matter what they had been forced to do that they could always return home.

One last thought before signing off.  Here are 6 P’s that I compiled while walking.  These P’s can be applied to our Christian walks.

  • Purpose: 70 people didn’t show up at 8am on a Saturday morning just out of the blue.  They came together for a purpose that provided focus for the hours ahead.
  • Preparation: Its great to have purpose but without some preparation it would have been impossible to realize the goal we had set.  Imagine trying to make that walk in 87 degree weather without water or a good pair of tennis shoes.
  • Participation: I know that there were some people who had good intentions about being part of the event.  They were in agreement about the goal and they may have even made some preparations for the walk. But, they never showed up.  They checked out before they ever began.
  • Partnership: Imagine with me if only one person had showed up that Saturday morning for the long walk expecting that others would be there to share the journey.  They may have been so disillusioned that they would have just turned around and gone home.  Paul had Barnabas or Luke on his many rough travels.  I wonder how he would have fared if he had tried to go it alone.
  • Perseverance: I got to admit that there were times I wanted to check out during that long walk.  The sun had burned every inch of my exposed skin, each step felt like it was being made barefooted in broken glass, and my muscles were aching from being pushed harder than they had in a long time.  Here is the funny thing… it wasn’t the last few miles that were the hardest, it was the middle miles.  I kept thinking about how much I hurt and how far I still had to go.  It was very disheartening.  I could hear Paul exhorting Timothy to continue in the walk, to strive for the prize.  There were two miles that were pure torture for me but I wanted to keep going, to keep striving, to keep pushing toward the prize. One. Step. At. A. Time.
  • Prayer: This last P was done in conjunction with all the others but it was especially important in persevering.  AND… it was done on the behalf of other people.

Have you applied any of these to your life?  I would love to hear about it.

  1. April 28, 2009 at 10:38 am

    T: Glad to read of your “excursion.” I am also impressed by those who joined with you to do this. Given that I am a cyclist, the walking would have killed me (bad feet and all). I applaud you and the others for doing this. I would probably have to draw the line on sleeping out under the stars without a pad and sleeping bag. Old bodies don’t do well in those conditions. As for the application: I have to remind myself of those things when I cycle. When that hill seems a little too steep I have to remind myself, “One more crank. One more crank.” Good post T. You “done good” on the walk also.

  2. April 28, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    B: Thanks.

    Yeah, I can understand the “one more crank…just one more crank” … I have to admit that I didn’t realize it was going to hurt as much as it did. Two days later its hard to remember how painful it was though. Probably a lesson in there somewhere.

  3. April 29, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Nice post.

    4 days later and I still hurt.

    • April 29, 2009 at 7:28 pm

      I popped all my blisters on Monday morning in order to remove the pressure that they were creating inside my shoes. THAT helped a lot. Today, I feel close to 95% which is surprising considering how much I still hurt on Monday. Of course, getting out flying kites with my kids and mowing the lawn forced me to exercise those muscles which sped along the healing process.

      Once my face and neck finish falling off, I will be back to my usual couchy potatoness.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

