Home > Life Thoughts > Cinderella’s Electric Slide ‘Boogy Woogy Woogy’

Cinderella’s Electric Slide ‘Boogy Woogy Woogy’

She spins and she sways
To whatever song plays
Without a care in the world
And I’m sitting here wearing
The weight of the world on my shoulders

fatherdaughterdanceandeaster2009-124

It’s been a long day
And there’s still work to do
She’s pulling at me
Saying “Dad, I need you

fatherdaughterdanceandeaster2009-128

There’s a ball at the castle
And I’ve been invited
And I need to practice my dancing
Oh, please, Daddy, please?”

fatherdaughterdanceandeaster2009-127

So I will dance with Cinderella
While she is here in my arms
‘Cause I know something the prince never knew
Oh, I will dance with Cinderella
I don’t want to miss even one song
‘Cause all too soon the clock will strike midnight
And she’ll be gone…

fatherdaughterdanceandeaster2009-116

This was the last father-daughter dance that my youngest daughter, Brianna, and I will attend as this is her last year in elementary.  Its hard to believe that she is just 11 years old and already rushing headlong into the years that will turn her into a young lady.

It was surreal to watch as she and her mother went shopping for a dress for this dance weeks before it would occur.  And then the day of the dance, she went to the house of her best friends in order to get ready.  I can remember when my wife did all those things in preparation for our prom and for our wedding day – I believe that was just …. yesterday…?

How bitter-sweet are those thoughts?

Life seems like a wheel rolling down hill.  At first it starts slowly and we have more questions about what is ahead than about what is behind.  Over time that wheel keeps picking up speed and in the course of its turning we can see that what lays ahead looks much like what has already been covered in the past.

The coolest thing is that somehow the wheels that belong to us older people that are traveling so fast now can still intersect with the slower rolling wheels of the younger generations.  They think that they have us forever and we know that our time is fleeting.  I am glad I had one more dance with my Cinderella.

By the way, I still don’t know how to do the Electric Slide.  🙂

  1. jordanfloro
    May 4, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I’m glad to see that you’re still dancing!

    • May 4, 2009 at 5:13 pm

      Yes, I am. But I have traded the pink tutu in for a pink tie. Dude.. good to see you around these parts and your icon is killer.

  2. May 4, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Tone, I have your blog coming to me via RSS feeds. However, it is coming to the wrong email, my work email. Do you know how to change it? I am trying to live a transparent life, but I still like my personal readings to come to my personal email.

  3. May 4, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Jody,

    I will have to fess up my ignorance on this one as I haven’t done the RSS feed thing yet. I will have to look into that maybe it will make my life easier?

  4. May 4, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Keep dancing Tony! Great post.

  5. May 4, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    I’m not gonna lie. That post and the pictures made me tear up a bit. Your daughter is lovely. Plus, the last picture cracks me up.

    P.S. – thanks for the monkey butt sprinkle.

  6. May 4, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Tony: Good post but pretty soon it will be you dancing with her as a wife. Been there done that one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

