Home > 2nd Chances > Square Peg Pain

Square Peg Pain

Ever feel like you are facing this dilemma:

squareround

I feel like that from time-to-time.  Its not that I am trying to put a square peg into a round hole, its more like I am the square peg and eventually what seems to happen in my life is this:

square-peg-round-hole

I don’t normally recognize that this has happened until its too late.  I just keep pushing and then for some reason a pause comes and then I notice that there are splintered pieces of me all around.  If you know anything about splinters, you probably realize that the splinters hurt those who come into contact with them –  more than what created them.

Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, {which is} your spiritual service of worship. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect. ~ Romans 12: 1-2

I am in a period right now that I believe God is doing this:

man-shaving-square-peg-to-fit-round-hole-thumb5938409

There is pain in being a square peg when the hole to be filled is round.  I am tired of causing myself pain (and others) because I have been trying to do things my own way and in my own power.  There is still pain in being shaped by God… but its a constructive pain and, eventually, the fit is going to be perfect.

I am still being transformed so I don’t know exactly how this is going to end up looking at my own situation, but I am interested in hearing from you about times God has shaped you for His purpose.

  1. May 5, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Thanks for not wearing the mask, Tony! I’ll be back.. 🙂

    • May 6, 2009 at 2:17 pm

      thanks, Camey.

      sometimes we have decisions to make and the path is just not as clear as one would like…. especially when every direction looks to be a round hole for a square kinda guy.

  2. May 5, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    A lot of times the round hole is where I’m being called and the square peg is what I see myself doing or percieve as my skills. The reality is often that my peg is round and fits very nicely (He did design us after all) and what God is shaving off is my perception, my belief that my peg is square. Does that make any sense?

    • May 6, 2009 at 2:18 pm

      Chris,

      You may be on to something here. I hadn’t really thought about it this way so you have given me something more to mull over. I appreciate that.

    • May 6, 2009 at 5:29 pm

      Tony,

      Thank you. Your post inspired it. Something I need to think about more. May write a post about it.

  3. May 5, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    That’s just weird. My post tomorrow talks about me being a square peg in a world of round holes.

    Here’s what I believe is true: That you are unique. That you – warts and all, can bring honor and glory to His Kingdom. When you accept that God loves you right now, right where you are, then it becomes a less painful journey. That’s just my 2 cents. I think you’re pretty awesome, btw.

    • May 6, 2009 at 2:19 pm

      Kat,

      I look forward to reading your post… I am always looking for insights that will help me better see what it is that I am analyzing. And I am always doing that… 😐

      I think you are pretty awesome yourself 😉

  4. May 5, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I’ve just come over from Tam’s blog, where Toby’s just said that it was comments like yours that get subscribers. I concur wholeheartedly, and will do just that!

    I loved this post… I will definitely come here more often.

    • May 6, 2009 at 2:20 pm

      Thanks bajan!

      Do you write poetry, as your name suggests? I am uneducated when it comes to poetry but I sure do like to read it. 🙂

      • May 7, 2009 at 7:46 pm

        Oh yeah, I used to write a lot more during my teenage years…. a lot of poetry about love … and God. I used to be called ‘Love Man’ coz I was always writing romantic poetry.

        Kinda makes me nostalgic….

        I should start again!

        😉

  5. May 6, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Being transformed is hard, but as my good friend Jack said “It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg.”

    • May 6, 2009 at 2:22 pm

      SB,

      Now how can you argue with Mr. Lewis on that matter? I still wonder why his friends called him Jack.

      Thank you for the quote… its a new one that I will have to tuck into my memory banks because its a keeper.

  6. May 7, 2009 at 3:22 am

    Great post man. I have been through that cycle several times in life, kinda sucks and is kinda fun all at the same time.

  1. May 28, 2009 at 2:08 pm

Leave a Reply

