Home > Life Thoughts > Hey, Short Stuff, look at this!

Hey, Short Stuff, look at this!

This morning while ironing my shirt (yes, I do this myself and with some modicum of success), I was thinking about 3 things simultaneously.  And, yes, that qualifies me as a scatter-brain.  The three things going through my mind were these:

  • Hot side down on shirt, cool handle goes in hand. (Trust me, its better to keep reminding yourself of these things)
  • A lesson that I have to teach this coming Friday evening for our World Changers Pre-Mission trip.
  • And finally, a conversation that occurred this past Sunday evening between myself, the youth pastor, and one of the youth.

The pertinent thought to this post is the last one, though, if you find yourself ironing while reading this post, see point 1.  I digress.  The conversation that I mentioned in point 3 went something like this.

ME: {noticing the youth studying a large document} “What are studying?” {yeah, I am cool like that}.

YouthPastor: {youth was still entranced in document or my opening line wasn’t quite cool enough to elicit a direct response} “He’s my understudy”.

ME: “Understudy? Is he going to teach for you at the Pre-Mission trip.” {you just can’t make up this kind of great dialog}.

YouthPastor: {youth is still busily looking at document} “No.  He is helping with some preparation for the messages for the actual trip.”

ME: “Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh….” {actually it was just a quick ah, but it looked more cerebral stretched out like that} “So if you get sick or something, he will have to preach for you.” {this was meant to get the youth’s attention}.

Youth: {looking up from paper bewildered} “Na huh!?” {I think his response was much better than I remember it but the deer-in-the-headlights look he gave me has given me dialog-block}.

ME: {trying to see him eye-to-eye, he is a taaalll feller} “Don’t worry, you are tall so you already have instant credibility.”

Now that may have not been the exact words that were spoken, but it captures the gist of what occurred.  What does this have to do with anything?  Dagum, you are so impatient.  Ok.  So there I was this morning moving a hot iron across my shirt hoping I was taking out more wrinkles than I was putting in when I struck on the idea about how being tall does lend  credibility.

Remember how the Israelites demanded a king and God gave them one.  The one that they wanted was the guy that stood head and sholders above everyone else.  Saul was a tall, mighty looking man.  That gave him instant credibility in front of the people because they were looking at the outside of the man.  But here is the best part of the thoughts that I ironed out.

When the people came up against a man named Goliath that eclipsed their king in the measure that had been important to them, they sat in their tents and shook.

Isn’t it amazing that God used a wee shepherd boy to show the people that the way they had been measuring things was out of whack.  What’s ironic is that had they been focusing on God all along, their measure of size would have still worked because there is no one greater in stature than God. The heaven’s cannot contain Him.

When we use the world’s measuring sticks, we are always going to come up ‘short’ because there is always going to be someone who is:

  • richer
  • smarter
  • prettier
  • happier
  • healthier

You can add what ever else you want to the list.  As long as God is left out of the list, we will find ourselves on the short end of our measuring device.  Recognizing that shortness isn’t such a bad thing when we finally turn and see God standing there.  He has a way of using the shorties in overcoming some big obstacles.

How about you guys, you iron out some thoughts today?

  1. May 6, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I’m pretty sure I have more wrinkles in my thoughts today then I did yesterday. Trying to wrap my mind around lots of things, but rather than place a novel in your comment section on my first comment here, I’ll just say…Well done and well said….I like reading what you type!

    • May 7, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      I like novel comments. You are welcome to place them here anytime. 🙂

  2. May 6, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Tony: From the “for what its worth department”: I too iron my own shirts. I either do them before I go to bed or when I get up (way too early for my wife to consider opening her eyes let alone iron a shirt).

    From the “I have a thought” department: My thoughts are jumbled right now. I feel like I am spinning plates with each passing day. Major changes in our staff situation has caused more work to come my way. I do wish there was a mental iron that could be applied to help iron the creases away. i do agree that as long as we compare ourselves to others we will always find ourselves small.

    Good post. Good thoughts.

    • May 7, 2009 at 1:14 pm

      I can imagine dealing with the change in staff has got to be just one more obstacle on the path to fulfilling what God is doing in your church. I am praying that you are given wisdom to follow where He is leading during this transition.

      And mental irons would be welcome. I have some tough wrinkles to iron out myself.

  3. May 6, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    What is this “ironing” that you speak of?

    Somebody once said, comparing yourself to others is the cornerstone of self-doubt and loathing…or something like that.

    You have to come to God right where you are. We’re never going to be good enough on our own. That’s sort of the point, huh? Good post, Tony.

    • May 7, 2009 at 1:16 pm

      Ironing is a torturous process that my mother said was necessary in order to look presentable when going out into public. My wife seconds that advice… so I think its a conspiracy that you ladies created in order to get even with us guys. I don’t know what we ever did that was so bad to deserve this. But you got us good. 🙂

  4. Erik Koliser
    May 7, 2009 at 4:09 am

    i’m short and this blog post made me feel good.

    • May 7, 2009 at 1:16 pm

      Its all about context. In the land of pygmies, you would be a god. 😉

  5. May 7, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    so…you mean…there’s ALWAYS going to be another soprano out there who can sing higher than i can???

    sigh. when will the butt-kicking end? i’m getting tired of assaulting people.

    • May 8, 2009 at 2:07 am

      you kick soprano butt? That sounds funny.

      There is probably some 8 year old, prepubescent boy out there who can sing so high he makes the clouds vibrate.

      Of course.. maybe you are the highest of the high on this plane… but maybe there is an angel or two who could show you a thing or two 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

