Home > Life Thoughts > Lilacs – A Lesson on Heaven

Lilacs – A Lesson on Heaven

We have a white lilac bush that we planted just outside a window in the living room.  We planted it there because we knew one day that we would be able to enjoy their fragrance as we sat relaxing there.  This morning my wife opened that window and what a lovely reminder that beauty comes in so many forms.  Touch.Smell.Taste.Sound.Sight.

Lilac

Lilacs – beautiful to see but even more beautiful to smell.

I want you to think about the worst smell you have ever encountered.  For me it is either the wall of odor that I walked into while entering the men’s restroom yesterday or the odor of the fruit known as Durian.  Trust me, if you have ever smelled durian you would see why those two go together so well.

Maybe you have a lot of odors that just make you cringe.  What would happen if you could collect all those odors at one time and throw them in a bag?  How awful would that be?

Imagine a life form that lived in that plastic bag and all it knew was those different odors.  Its whole experience was wrapped up in what it could encounter in that plastic bag.  To it, some of the odors that we would detest would seem like sweet perfume compared to another.  Take that life form out of its world and let it experience just one whiff of a lilac bush and try to imagine the thoughts it would have and the struggle it would go through to explain to the other lifeforms in the bag what it had experienced.

I think heaven is like that.  One whiff would be more than our ability to describe.

  1. May 15, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    true that. nice analogy. and the picture is beautiful.

    • May 15, 2009 at 11:28 pm

      That’s exactly what I was going to say 🙂

      • May 17, 2009 at 4:38 am

        i was going to say how futile it is pondering on what heaven might be like from down here and we should all spend more time working on ourselves to make sure we actually GET there so we can be filled with surprised wonder and Awe, rather than saying – yeah, this is pretty much as i imagined it to be.

        but on second thought… nice analogy and the picture is beautiful 😉

        <B

  2. May 18, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Thank you all..

    Joy: Lilacs are beautiful…unfortunately, I didn’t take the pic… I may have to go out tonight and take a picture of our lilac bush and see how they come out.

    David: Are you sure that is EXACTLY what you were going to say? 😉

    <B: You are right… we can conjecture all we want but our imaginations aren’t equipped for that degree of wonder.

  3. May 18, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Wow. Good stuff, Tony. Still laughing about the “take a goat to work” comment! You should cut and paste your comment on Pete’s blog today and make it a post. It was THAT good.

    • May 19, 2009 at 6:40 pm

      You are took kind, kat… and I thank you for that. Fortunately, take-a-goat-to-work day has not repeated itself since last week. That was so utterly awful. At least we have other restrooms to choose from. 🙂

  4. May 18, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    I love lilacs so much, that even though I sneeze my stinkin head off……I still grab clusters of them (one of my neighbors is nice enough to share) and have them in a vase in my kitchen….my husband asks me, after the 17th “God Bless You” why I continue to bring them in. I never have an answer that really gets my reason across to him…….The “whiff” you describe will now be my answer. Thank you!

    • May 19, 2009 at 6:42 pm

      Isn’t it weird the things that we like that we end up being allergic to? And I am happy that you found something of use from these simple words. I still need to go home and take some pictures of our lilac bush before it stops flowering. But they sure smell nice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

