Home > Poetry > Picture Poem – The Farm at Setting Sun

Picture Poem – The Farm at Setting Sun

I took the following photo from the window of my van using my cell phone  as I came to rest at a stop sign.

BarnPoem

And I thought about how these sunset masterpieces are just throw away doodles for God.

Categories: Poetry Tags: , , ,
  1. May 18, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    i don’t know if i can fully look at it as a ‘throw-away’ doodle. but i love how you brought up the idea that, for God, creating an amazing sunset doesn’t even make Him break a sweat. He’s a big God!

    • May 19, 2009 at 6:49 pm

      He’s been tossing aside the old ones for millenniums. And each day, He gives us an opportunity to see a new one. I have been on this ball of mud for almost 4 decades and I am still mesmerized by each one. Who else could do that?

      One of my favorites was a few a years ago on Norris Lake in Tennessee. My family had spent the whole day on the water and as we were driving our boat back to the dock, my wife and I were able to stand with our arms around each other while we glided across a calm lake watching the sun go down. The smell of night approaching on a lake is just unexplainable. Having the wind sweep through our hair while squinting against the diamond-sparkling of rippling water was just perfect.

  2. May 20, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Did i go straight to ‘spam’? or did i just not hit submit? (shootdarn?) 🙂

    <B

    • May 20, 2009 at 3:22 pm

      You must have missed hitting the submit button… I don’t have anything in spam. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

