Home > Just For Fun > Love Movies & Theaters but Hate the Movie-Going Experience

Love Movies & Theaters but Hate the Movie-Going Experience

Over this past Memorial day weekend I took my family to two movies.. at the theater.  There is something mesmerizing about the giant screen and the surround sound that makes the theater the best place to see a sci-fi or action movie.  Those are the good things about going to the movies.

There are a few things that take away from the movie-going experience though:

  • Long previews.  I was so tired after 30 minutes of previews that I fell asleep during Night at the Museum #2
  • Sticky floors and seats.  My phone fell below my seat during Star Trek and I had to go boldly into unexplored territory.  I think I still have some foreign substances under my nails.  There was definitely alien life under my seat… no question.
  • People and their food.  I always get the guy with plastic wrapped candy and the 45 gallon popcorn to sit down behind so that I can enjoy his additional sound track during the movie.  Nothing like hearing chewing during a quiet, intense scene.
  • Late Arrivers.  We have to show up early to shows in order to make sure we can get at least one companion seat next to a wheelchair slot otherwise people fill all those seats and Lauren has to sit by herself.  Star Trek was in a small theater so my wife and I had to sit in the row behind our daughters because we could not all get companion seats.  Sitting behind them kept us close so that we could interact with them.  A family of about 6 came in about 25 minutes into the previews and after taking seats asked my wife and I if we would be willing to move so that they could all sit together.

All-in-all, I would much rather watch a movie at home but it sure is hard to create that kind of movie-going-experience …. 😉

What are your pet peeves about the movie-going experience?

  1. Christi
    May 26, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Unruly children are my pet peeve. You know the ones who run around the theater like they don’t have any sense! And where are their parents?

    • May 26, 2009 at 7:02 pm

      They are probably sitting behind me eating popcorn or nachos. I was in one movie where a lady decided it would be a good time to knit. For a good part of the movie you could hear her ‘needles’ going snick snick as she made herself a blanket.

  2. May 26, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    I hate it when people are sitting in “our” seats. How dare them! I also dislike running commentary of what they think will happen next or if they have seen it to spoil it for the rest of us. Now that I will be getting braces I know I will dislike the smell of popcorn. It is about the only place I eat it.

    • May 27, 2009 at 12:29 pm

      I have always been fascinated by the way people want to hurry to the back of the theater. I like being at eye level which is about the level of entrance to the show but everyone else seems to swarm the top of the theater as quickly as possible so that they can look down on the screen. What’s up with that?

      I am not a huge fan of popcorn at the movies. Smell, sound, or taste.

  3. May 27, 2009 at 3:41 am

    are you suuuuuuuuuuuure it’s the previews that made you fall asleep during night at the museum.

    • May 27, 2009 at 12:31 pm

      Wellllll.. I had been up early for a round of golf after being out late the night before. It was a warm day and the cool darkness of the theater just kind of swaddled me to sleep…. of course maybe the movie had some moments that helped with that. 🙂

  4. May 27, 2009 at 4:44 am

    Pet Peeves? Hmmmm….

    i still object strongly to being made to watch advertisements ( i include ‘previews’ in this category) after i am paying a premium price to watch a product that is designed to relieve me of my money in return for frequently ‘dubious’ ‘entertainment’ value.

    i also find the extortionate prices of food and drink at the ‘Candy Bar’ too hard to endure.

    On Tv last night a host of a quiz show asked: “i order a medium pop-corn, a regular coke and a choc-top (choc dipped ice cream cone) and hand over a hundred dollar bill. Can i still afford to see the movie??”

    It was a joke q but it reflects what i feel is an increasingly accurate opinion of ‘the movie-experience’.

    I’d rather go to my mate’s place and sit in his theatre room to watch his $15,000 in house projection screen HD DVD 7.1 channel ten speaker sound system and have home made munchies in ‘peace’ and quiet! 😉

    <B

    • May 27, 2009 at 12:33 pm

      We try to avoid buying the snacks because they are soooooooo overpriced.

      Maybe I should just visit your mate’s place and watch tv. My wife’s uncle has a room that he had built that he calls the man cave. Its nice to watch movies there as well. I need to build one…. but, alas, that takes money and time. 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

