Home > Life Thoughts > And sometimes there are blessings

And sometimes there are blessings

Yesterday was a day of blessings.  Two big ones!  I haven’t received permission to share one of the blessings…yet, but trust me, its a really, really cool blessing. (**Update! I just got permission to share it.. it is so truly cool that it has to have its own post. So stay tuned.**)

So let me tell you about the other one. Its story starts thee years ago when I came home from an Upwards basketball game on a snowy, Saturday afternoon.

Our daughter, Lauren, had grown to a size that made it inconvenient to carry her up to her second floor bedroom so the summer before I had converted our dining room into a downstairs bedroom for her.  This was cool except the only bathroom downstairs was only a halfbath so I was still having to carry up to the second floor in order for her to take a bath.

For some reason I came home that Saturday afternoon in 2006 and decided it was time something changed.  I started pulling walls down that separated that half bath from a hallway and closet.  I needed that extra room if a tub was going to fit.  That was in February and it took me until the beginning of June to finally get the tub in place.  I hadn’t realized that my schedule was going to get so busy that it would slow down my ability to get the work done.

The tub was finally in as was the toilet but I hadn’t reached the point of installing the sink or mudding the walls… or installing the tile.  It seemed that our schedules kept us busy to the point that finishing the bathroom was always on the backburner.  It was inconvenient not having a sink in the half bath but not unworkable since we had 2 full baths elsewhere.  My wife was getting seriously tired of seeing the unfinished walls and floor.

The worse news was that my daughter had finally hit her stride in catching up to her correct body size and our vision of using a tub was looking more like a nightmare because as she was getting heavier, we were getting older.  We were looking at redoing everything that we had already invested time and money into and that was heartbreaking.

Until we found a group that specialized in this type of work through private grants.  They came and checked out what we were running into and what Lauren needed.  They approved the work for Lauren and yesterday they showed up and started ripping out all of the work that I had already started.

I can’t tell you how thankful I am for that.  Many people think that having a disabled daughter automatically qualifies us for a lot of assistance.  That is simply not the case.  We have learned to make do or make our own way in many things because its just the way things are.  We don’t begrudge that because we do it for the daughter we love and desire to have.

That being said, my whole family welcomes the group of men who are coming in now to remodel the bathroom that will ‘fit’ Lauren.  All of it free to us.  It just blows me away at the size of that blessing.

I am truly thankful.

Has anybody every done something so huge for you that it just blew you away?

  1. June 2, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    I have been blessed over and over T but this is not the time to talk about that. This is the time to give God the praise for an awesome answer to a need and a prayer. This is truly something worth shouting about. I can’t wait to hear how Lauren likes it when it is all done (and how much easier it is on your back).

  2. June 2, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    wow! awesome story. seriously.

    i can’t think of anything for me. :/
    give me a few hours! 😉

  3. June 3, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    My best mate gave me a free trip ( flights accommodation) to Europe from Australia – sort of in return for services rendered, but it was still a seriously great gesture and two weeks ( plus the four i spent with relatives in the UK with another free flight for that). He reckons i owe him nothing as i have already done as much for him (did i mention he was a millionaire at this point after being unemployed and almost broke a couple of years before?)

    Great to hear prayers answered!

    <B

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

