Home > 2nd Chances, Life Thoughts > And sometimes there are blessings – part 2

And sometimes there are blessings – part 2

Yesterday, I wrote about a blessing concerning some home improvements that were being made to our downstairs bath.  I also alluded to a really cool blessing that we received on Monday of this past week.  Today is a really cool day because I get to write about that blessing.

You may want to start with this post: Southern Hospitality.

I wrote that post on May 12th following a day of frustration in which I had tried to purchase tickets to a concert for my family.  The handicapped seating had sold out and while there were plenty of seats for the general population, my daughter could not bring her wheelchair into the stadium unless she could remain in it.  Which of course, she could not since there was no seating left in the ADA section.  It was a catch 22 unless I was willing to carry her into the stadium, which is what I finally decided to do.

Somehow that story made its way to someone who works with Reba McEntire.  That person’s name is Carolyn and she found a way to bless us when we hadn’t expected it.  Carolyn read our story and was able to work with CMA Music Fest and find us 2 tickets in the ADA section!!

Lauren, my daughter, will now be able to take her chair into the concert.  Now you might think that my not having to carry her is the best part of that situation but that is not the case.  While I am very thankful that my back has been saved, the greater part of the blessing is that Lauren will have her ‘legs’.  You see, her chair is the thing that gives her a certain sense of normalcy when it comes to mobility.  Without it, she is reduced to remaining in the place, stuck without hope of changing her position.

When Carolyn told me what she had been able to do for us, I couldn’t wait to tell Lauren but I didn’t just blurt it out.  This is how the conversation went:

ME: “Lauren, what are your thoughts about not being able to take your chair to the Reba Concert?”

LAUREN: “Its ok, dad.  I still get to see Reba.”

ME: “What if I told you could see Reba and stay in your chair?”

LAUREN: “How can we do that? I thought they didn’t have any seats left.”

ME: “Well, someone who works with Reba heard about what happened and found 2 seats in the handicap section for us.”

LAUREN: “THAT”S AWESOME!  I can’t wait to go!”

I wish I had her type of focus.  She was never bothered that she was going to have to leave her ‘legs’ behind because she was going to see Reba.  She never focused on the negative because she was always focused on the positive.  It made me wonder if those people whom Christ had healed would have been just as satisfied having met Him if He had not taken away their infirmities.

It taught me a lesson.  One that I would not have learned had it not been for Carolyn, my daughter Lauren, and a Reba Concert.

It may be true that every rose has its thorn, but, wow, the beauty that is missed if we only focus on the thorns.

In her email to us, Carolyn had been concerned that 2 tickets would present a problem because she thought that there were three of us going to the concert.  That would have meant one of us would have to sit separately from the other two.  She didn’t realize that there are actually four of us going and that her gift would allow my wife and I to have parent/daughter dates for some one-on-one time with each child.  How cool is that!

My wife who is a HUGE Reba fan will sit with Lauren who is a HUGE Reba fan and I will take Brianna and we will enjoy all of the artists who are singing that night.

By the way, I promised Carolyn that I would not release any of her personal information and I will keep that promise but I do want to share this about her – she is a talented person in her own right and has a beautiful heart.  I was able to read some of her blog and look at some of the art she has produced.

To Carolyn, Reba, and whoever else has been involved in making this blessing available to my family – Thank You!  May you see beauty in spite of the thorns in life.

One final note: this story may not be over.  We had purchased 4 tickets to the show and since Carolyn was able to get us 2 in the ADA section, she may be able to bless someone else with our extra 2 tickets.  I will be sure to let you know if this story takes another turn and I look forward to letting you all know how the concert goes.  We leave in a week for Nashville, TN and the concert is next Thursday night.

God Bless each of you.

  1. June 3, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    This is a huge story about a person with a huge heart. I pray if Carolyn is a Christ-follower that she will be blessed beyond measure. If not, I pray she will still be blessed by knowing she did something for one of God’s children. Hope you have a great time (even though you have to sit through Reba’s concert. Alas, I am not a fan). 🙂 But I love it for you all!!

    • June 4, 2009 at 2:30 am

      Maybe you would like one of the other stars performing that night:

      Brooks & Dunn
      Brad Paisley
      Rascal Flatts
      Dierks Bentley
      Julianne Hough
      Darius Rucker

      Bill.. thank you for your heart. 🙂

  2. June 3, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    That is amazing. To know that there are people out there who still reach out in ways small to them, and so large to us. It is a blessing.

    • June 4, 2009 at 2:32 am

      Amen, SB. Hopefully, we can all learn to impact people in the areas that we have some influence. It may seem small to us but it may have huge implications to someone else. These are all great lessons to learn and share. Thanks for sharing in our blessing.

  3. June 3, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    When I read your post yesterday (and rudely neglected to comment) I just KNEW the next blessing was going to be something to do with the Reba concert. This is such a heartwarming story. Your daughter is a beautiful and blessed young lady as evidenced by her attitude and heart. I’m a Reba fan right along with her!

    • June 4, 2009 at 2:39 am

      You were not rude in any manner…. and I am glad that we got to share Lauren’s blessing with so many people in the blogosphere.

      Lauren is counting down the days until she can see Reba sing at CMA Fest. She must have listened to the Strange video a dozen times today. {And at least 2 dozen yesterday}…. she cries when she watches the video, “Cowgirls don’t cry”.. guess that proves she isn’t a cowgirl 🙂

      She also has Reba’s sisters albums loaded onto her iPod so that she can listen to her gospel music. Her sister sounds very much like Reba.

      I am looking forward to having some time off with all of my girls. And I am going to stop in and pick on Pete at his church. 😉

      • June 4, 2009 at 2:53 am

        You meant: pick UP Pete at his church – Right Dude? 😉

        Give the little guy a pat on the head from me 🙂

        Great news for Lauren (and moreso your long-suffering back?)

        <B

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

