Home > Life Thoughts > Influence Confluence

Influence Confluence

I met with my former Bible Fellowship teacher today because I respect the bajeebies out of him.  He is old enough to be my father and I know he will shoot from the hip when it comes to questions on life and faith.

I had questions of both sorts for him today and he didn’t disappoint.  I truly enjoy having opportunities to talk to people who can influence my life in such a positive manner.

We talked some about church polity and some of the questions that I post here from time-to-time.  We don’t necessarily see eye-to-eye on some subjects but I know we can walk away from the conversation still respecting each other and looking forward to the next time we will get together for a cup of coffee.  The ability for us to talk and listen to each other speaks of our mutual influence in the other’s life – a confluence if you will.  Much like two rivers coming together and forming a greater river.

Confluence

If either of us decided to limit the other in our conversation, then there would be a damming of that confluence and one or both of us would walk away bitter about the meeting.

Influence is funny that way.  At least to my way of thinking, it works better when there is a confluence instead of a dam blocking the way.

I have to be reminded of that because there are some areas in my life right now that I don’t have a lot influence and it could be easy to become bitter about the them.

So, tell me about the person that helps you work through your thoughts.

  1. June 27, 2009 at 9:00 am

    i have yet to find ANYONE who comes remotely close to understanding the thoughts i have that i would love to share and discuss and feel there is some confluence with them.

    So i just yap about my perspectives on sports, politics, news, the family, the weather, what was on tv last week etc, just for the sake of being ‘understood’.

    ho hum

    <B

    • June 30, 2009 at 2:40 pm

      I know what you are saying. I have had to find people that share commonality with different parts of my passions. I don’t think there is just one person out there that is going to ‘get me’ on all my different levels but its good to have different people who I can connect with on subjects at a deep level.

  2. June 27, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    that’s a great picture of a good mentor/friend relationship.

    i don’t really have anyone quite like that in my life, but i find bits and pieces of that kind of thing in several of my friends. each of them brings something different to the table, and helps me recognize different aspects in me that are either good and should stay or which need to be adjusted or just plain cut off. i like having that.

    sometimes i’d love to have all of that in one friend, like a soulmate or something. but i’ve learned it’s also a blessing to find the joys of dear friendship and the “iron sharpens iron” concept from several different sources.

    • June 30, 2009 at 2:41 pm

      I think that you understand pretty well how to go about it with the many different friends that you can turn to for different aspects of your ‘bits and pieces’.

      Which is a cool thing.

      • June 30, 2009 at 5:16 pm

        but wouldn’t it be way fun if we could seriously find that ‘soul mate’ type?
        not in the romantic sense…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

