Home > Life Thoughts > Ready or Hoping?

Ready or Hoping?

hope

I was driving home this evening and I was thinking about this question:

Are Christians today ready to go to heaven or hoping to?

I believe there is a difference and I believe that difference has a vast impact on how the two different groups behave and are perceived.  Before I give my two cents on the subject, I would like to hear what you think on the subject.

Philippians, Chapter 1, has some application to this thought process… so I will give you that bit of help to get your cognitive processes engaged.

Categories: Life Thoughts
  1. August 27, 2009 at 8:13 am

    I don’t have to look up the Scripture to figure out what my response is. I feel like Paul. I am not only ready to go to heaven I also feel like I want to stay here. So much to still do and so many people to still tell. I want to see my grandson grow up but also want to be with Jesus. I want to serve Him when I am old but want to see Him. But i also carry more than hope I will get to heaven. I carry an assurance i will.

    • August 27, 2009 at 8:14 pm

      Bill.. I like where you are going.. now, how do you respond if you add in Acts 14:19-20?

  2. August 28, 2009 at 1:02 am

    I’m not sure it is possible to be fully ready. Those who are ready also hope, because even though we know that heaven is good it is also largely unknown to us and as humans that which is unknown always scares us to some. And because we are scared we hope that it will be everything that we believe it is and yet fear it may not be. I know I will go to heaven when I die and I’m ready to an extent but I do not believe I am ready to the extent Paul was.

  3. August 28, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Personal view? – (All) Christians ready? – Not a chance!

    Far too full of Pride, ego, self-determination, human-led desire and connection to things of this Earth, way too short on understanding and building of the Holy Spirit within.

    Ready to leave your wife and family and just walk away?

    Ready to sell all your posessions?

    Ready (able) to lay everything from your childhood and past ‘behind’, never to return to them, in order to better show His Love to others no matter who or where they are?

    Mother Theresa may have been ‘close’ – and that’s still a maybe. The vast majority of the rest? – ‘Hopers’.

    And if i die tonight i KNOW i’m cooked. There is stuff in me that maybemight be worth ‘keeping’, but overall i still have a loooooong way to go before i will consider myself anywhere near ‘ready’.

    When i think He thinks i am – when i do as He did here – only then will i start calling myself a Christian.

    With any luck that is when He sees me as ready also. But it is NEVER my ‘call’ to make.

    <B

  4. August 29, 2009 at 6:36 am

    Oh now THAT’s just NASTY!

    Copying a legit post comment and adding ‘all the best’ so as not to get caught in Spam??

    Are there no depths spammers won’t sink to these days?

    Why did i even bother to ask that question??

    <B

    • August 30, 2009 at 12:43 am

      Thanks for the catch <B… I took care of the spam. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

