Home > Just For Fun > An Ecclectic Reading List

An Ecclectic Reading List

I am sitting in my reading/tv watching chair and there are several books next to me – much to my wife’s chagrin.  She will probably migrate them to my office at some point and then slowly they will migrate back to their current location.  It’s as inevitable as the tide’s coming in and going out.

My current reading list includes:

  • Think Orange by Reggie Joiner
  • And He Dwelt Among Us by A.W. Tozer
  • Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis
  • Game Plan For Life by Joe Gibbs

2 of the books are contemporary books that are concerned with topics that face men and families in today’s society.  The authors are of those 2 books are still living and at least one of them is a very well respected celebrity in the sports world.

The other 2 books were written in the previous century and the authors are no longer living. But…  their words are still applicable and speaking today.

So, what are you reading?

  1. September 30, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Just finished reading Secondhand Jesus and Christianish. Now reading Extreme Dreams Depend on Teams by Pat Williams. On deck are The Hole in our Gospel, Make Love,Make War by Doerksen, and What Are You Living For? by Pat Williams to name a few. Some others but that is enough. Problem is: I almost have to read them one at a time. I have trouble reading more than one at a time. 🙂

  2. tracywc
    October 2, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    I read “The Screwtape Letters” every few years. It’s definitely worthwhile.

    When I was in college the president of that institution once said something that I actually took to heart. He said “You’ll be the same ten years from now except for the people you meet and the books you read”. I think there’s some truth to this.

    I just finished reading (I even managed to get my 15yr old son to read this one with me who, although he does well in school, confesses to hating to read. He even listens to the Word on CD) “Little Brother” by Cory Dockoro. In case you’re not familiar with it; it’s fiction and definitely not from a Christian perspective, but riveting all the same and it made me, and my son, think about a lot of things, talk about a lot of things.

    Just about finished with “The Ragamuffin Gospel” by Brenning Manning. God’s used this to heighten my awareness & experience of His love and grace. When it’s all said and done life really is all about God’s wonderful love for us. I’d put this book on my top 20 best books I’ve ever read list.

  3. October 3, 2009 at 1:41 am

    Green by Ted Dekker- christian allegory and long awaited end to the series
    and actually I also have the Screwtape Letters in my read pile by my bed

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

