Home > Church Hunt, Commentary > Thoughts on the Church Hunt

Thoughts on the Church Hunt

Our family has now visited 3 churches in 5 weeks.  My new role at work held me up one Sunday so that we couldn’t make a visit and we made a second visit to one of the churches that was in our neighborhood so the math works out correct when I say 3 churches in 5 weeks.

I am learning through this experience that it can be difficult to understand where it is we are ‘supposed’ to be.

In many cases I feel like I stand alone or, at the very least, in the middle of divergent desires.  What do I mean by that? Back when we started this process I made this post, Jim-N-Caspar, hoping to level set what it was we wanted to accomplish with our search.  I am learning that change is difficult when status quo is so much more comfortable.  I have had several discussions in the past week with friends and with my own family concerning why we need to make a change.  Convictions are tested when we face questions from those that love us and fear the change that those convictions will bring.

In our situation change comes at a cost.  We have to leave what was familiar and replace it with the unfamiliar.  We have to experience a period of being uncomfortable.  We will see friends from our previous church less and may even lose some because we won’t see them any more.   The point is that there is a cost in change.

So how do we avoid the bumps and bruises that change can bring?  We don’t.  Like a cowboy on the back of a bull, we have to understand that a drastic change in position is going to bring some bumps and bruises.

But like that cowboy, we have to stay true to the convictions that brought us to the change if we hope to see the rewards that come from staying focused on the prize.  Our prize is in Christ Jesus.  We want to honor Him.  And maybe that means we have to do things that other people don’t understand.  To tell you the truth, I don’t understand why a grown man would want to hop on the back of a really heavy, angry bull.

Or why another person would spend hours and hours of running in order to compete in a marathon that covers 26.2 miles.

Or why another would go through years of a starving artist lifestyle in order to get that one-in-a-million-chance at making it big.

But.

I can respect them for the focus that allows them to face adversity in order to attain a goal that drives their life.

I am faced with the question, “Am I willing to stay focused on the prize before me even in the face of adversity?”

Am I willing to pay the cost?

And that becomes a bigger question when we visit a church like the one we did this past Sunday.  I will save that discussion for a post later this week.  I hope I have you intrigued because it’s the first church that has caused me to ponder “Is this the place where we are supposed to be?”  and “Has God been shaping us for this moment?”

Peace.

  1. February 24, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Look forward to hearing about your church hunt this past week.

    • February 24, 2010 at 12:37 pm

      Thanks, Bill.

      I hope to find some time to get it done today. It may be later tonight because I want to talk to my family again about the experience before I write anything down.

  1. March 11, 2010 at 3:17 am

Leave a Reply

