Home > Life Thoughts, video > Are You a Coward?

Are You a Coward?

[tweetmeme source=”tonyyork” only_single=false]

I wrote about the cost of convictions in  Molehills  & Mountains yesterday. While the following clip has nothing to do with matters of faith, there are some great truths expressed… especially in the area of  convictions.

What motivates your life?

Who or what gets the blame when things aren’t going the way you expect?

How is your behavior impacted by what others may perceive of you?

How about this question – are you a coward?

  1. May 6, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Hadn’t seen that clip before. Those were some really strong words that rocky says. He is right in what he said also. time to “man up” and stop blaming every thing but the kitchen sink for the problems and difficulties we face, some of them consequences we bring upon ourselves.

    • May 6, 2010 at 10:45 am

      yeah… that part stuck out to me as well.. too many people play the ‘victim card’ way too often. This was probably one of my favorite Rocky movies because it dealt with a lot of life themes. If you haven’t had the opportunity to watch it, I would suggest doing so.

  2. May 6, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    For the past 1000+ days, in a row, I have been walking a journey of recovery from active addiction. Addiction came very late in life. I have never been a drinker or illegal drug user, but and addict is an addict. When I came into recovery I blamed everyone but me for my addiction. I didn’t know how to take responsibility. Or even take my life back. Until I realized. I. Was. An. Addict.

    What motivates me now is helping the next person who comes into recovery. I am also motivated by God. He moves my heart in the direction of Him. And recovery. Recovery of my faith. Recovery of my spirit. Recovery of my very soul. And I can pass this on to others!!

    I could not see my behavior while in my addiction. I thought I was hiding it. Ha! So many memories that have come back. I acted STUPID. I acted without thinking. And others saw right through that plastic facade of a person. That was me, but wasn’t me. My coworkers lost confidence in me (or so I thought). See, I’m a pharmacist. And I work around my drugs of choice. Well, I used to. My husband & I moved to another state & I haven’t been able to afford to transfer my license. It is very humbling.

    This journey has been so awesome. I praise God every day for taking my obsession away. And until today, never thought of myself as a coward, but I am. I was running from problems in my life & smothering them in a stupor. Guess what? Those problems were still there when I got clean! And many are still in my life, but I have the capacity to deal with them now. Through other addicts, but mostly because my God is a God of second chances.

    • May 6, 2010 at 4:37 pm

      “..but mostly because my God is a God of second chances.”

      You have blessed me with your response.. as well as any other reader that stops by. Your grace and strength are a testament that God can turn our cowardice into something much, much more.

      May God bless you richly.

      • May 6, 2010 at 7:11 pm

        I concur tony. It took a lot for Shellie to write what she did. It took even more for her to admit that she had an addiction. I applaud her stick-to-it-tiveness and her reliance upon God’s grace of second chances. I pray God’s blessings upon you Shellie.

      • May 6, 2010 at 7:25 pm

        And this is why I come to blog posts like this one. It’s about honesty for me. I’m not totally transparent. I am still a coward hiding secrets, but I cannot imagine dealing with them all at once. I learn from one secret that finds the light of God & move to the next. All the stronger & more determined. God brought some amazing internet friends into my life & it makes life so much more rich. Thanks, guys, really.

  3. May 7, 2010 at 1:54 am

    Tony,
    I like what you said about the God of second chances. I am the beneficiary of his forgiveness and second chances myself. Great video.
    God Bless
    Jim

  4. May 7, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Wow. That is a powerful scene.
    I grew up in a very “unfortunate” environment. I could blame the decisions I make, or the opportunities I have (or haven’t) received on my socio-economic status, on my relationships, on my past, or on a number of things. But I refuse to give into the idea that anyone else is responsible for my behavior.

    Good post, Tony.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

