Home > 2nd Chances, Commentary > Jude and Other Dudes

Jude and Other Dudes

[tweetmeme source=”tonyyork” only_single=false]

On Wednesday nights there are a few dudes that get together at a local Bob Evans to enjoy some food and to talk through life’s questions.  I am one of those dudes and we dudes refer to ourselves as the Wednesday Knights.  A dear friend suggested that name as a reminder, and a play on words, that, as men, we have a responsibility to train and prepare for life’s battles.  We are also under the responsibility to be on guard for those that the King has entrusted to our care.

We recently took some time to read through John MacArthur’s small study guide on ‘How to study the bible’.  Last evening we finally finished reading through the book and decided to apply the techniques that John suggested by going trough a book in the New Testament.

For those of you who are especially quick, you will have realized that we decided on the book of Jude based on the title of my post.  I believe that one of the reasons that we selected this particular scripture is due to its short length.  This is a good thing when trying to apply some of the techniques that John has suggested- the first being to read through the book every day for several days or weeks.  So this week I am committed to reading the book of Jude (ok, so it’s only 25 verses) every day until we meet again.

I have read it twice now and this is the thought that has hit me hard tonight:

We become arrogant when we read the Word and believe that the instruction against evil is always about someone else.  We I need to be willing to look for personal application even especially in the areas that aren’t very flattering.

That is why I need Jude and those other dudes in my life. I am very thankful that there are men who want to get together to learn about discovering and applying God’s teachings to their lives.

Who is standing with you?

(By the way, if you are a dude in the Columbus, Ohio area and want to hang out a Bob Evans on a Wednesday night, we would love to have you.)

  1. May 14, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Great idea. Don’t know where I would be today without the dudes in my life that seek after God. I love what you are doing with Jude. I just was in 2 John this morning. That is short maybe I will read that for a week to let it sink in…thanks for a reminder to get back together with some of my dudes.

    • May 18, 2010 at 12:52 am

      Let me know how reading 2nd John works for you. I know reading Jude over and over again is causing me to have more questions.

  2. May 14, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Great post Tony,
    I am a part of a group of men that meet every tuesday afternoon for the same reasons, Bible study, and helping each other with accountability, etc. So do you recommend this book then, were there a lot of things that were helpful to the group in learning to study?
    Have a great weekend
    God Bless
    Jim

    • May 18, 2010 at 12:53 am

      Jim,

      I do recommend reading this book. It is short and inexpensive but it covers why we should read and study the bible and gives great pointers for making the most of the study.

      I am glad to hear that you are part of a men’s group… keep it up!

  3. May 15, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Good post Tony. Trust me: if I was living in Columbus I would definitely consider being a part of Wednesday Knights. Cool idea.

    • May 18, 2010 at 12:56 am

      Bill.. we would be happy to have you as part of the Wednesday Knights if you were living in Columbus!

      Do you have a group of men that you meet with as a just another man and not their pastor?

      • May 18, 2010 at 7:37 am

        Unfortunately, no. Strange situation here that I won’t go into right now. I know I need that but finding it is difficult.

      • May 18, 2010 at 10:23 am

        Bill,

        I pray that you find a group of men to ‘belong’ to… we weren’t commanded to travel alone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

