Home > Life Thoughts > Ain’t that something.. err… I mean nothing.

Ain’t that something.. err… I mean nothing.

[tweetmeme source=”tonyyork” only_single=false]

We have been home from our roadcation a couple of days now.  I had hoped to be able to post more thoughts and pictures from the road but, alas, internet connections and time did not always align.  I will tell you this much – our family vacation out west was absolutely amazing.  We had opportunity to visit the following National Parks:

  • Badlands of South Dakota
  • Black Hills and Mount Rushmore in South Dakota
  • Yellowstone in Wyoming
  • Grand Tetons in Wyoming
  • Bryce Canyon in Utah
  • Grand Canyon in Arizona
  • Petrified Forest and Painted Desert in Arizona

We passed through or stayed in the following states:

  • Ohio (starting and ending point)
  • Indiana
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Minnesota
  • South Dakota
  • Wyoming
  • Montana
  • Idaho
  • Utah
  • Arizona
  • New Mexico
  • Texas
  • Oklahoma
  • Missouri

Here are some pictures from the road to give you a taste of what we saw while in the old van.

At one point, my youngest daughter made this statement after being witness to all of the beauty in the west:

And scientists think all of this came from a speck!

At the time I just responded that God had created a lot of beauty for us to enjoy but later on I had this thought.  Scientists need to believe that something came from something – even if it means hypothesizing a super condensed speck blowing up into our universe today (for you science geeks, I know that I am super simplifying that idea).

God didn’t have that limitation – He created all we see from nothing.

  1. Brianna York (the youngest daughter)
    June 30, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    I’m suprised you remembered that…….

  2. July 1, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Beautiful pics tony. So glad that you all had a good roadcation. Sorry we missed getting together on the way home (but I bet your girls thanked me). As for Brianna’s comment: is she hinting that you are getting old and can’t remember things? 🙂

    • July 1, 2010 at 2:00 pm

      Bill… exactly… Brianna is calling me old and forgetful. But she will be surprised some day by all the things ‘us older people’ have packed away in our memory banks. Especially about these special times when we were on vacation.

      As far as missing the opportunity to have lunch, I think they would have welcomed a stop for lunch with you all. We drove 7 hours with just one 15 minute stop for gas, food, and potty break. (I was focused on getting us home once we were pointed in that direction).

  3. shellie (baylormum)
    July 2, 2010 at 12:10 am

    Glad you all made it through as much as you did! Have missed your words these past few weeks. I love Yellowstone. It has to be 1st followed by Arches in Moab, UT. My hubby loves Yosemite. It’s ok, but Yellowstone took my heart! That speck God used to make this Earth was really loaded with some kind of beauty!!

    • July 6, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      Thank you, Shellie.

      We had a fantastic time but, alas, with anything that takes us away from the everyday, there is a time when we have to return and catch up with all the things that were put off. We have a busy week or so since we returned just trying to catch up on the ‘real’ life that occurs when we are not on vacation.

      I am hoping to get back into the swing of things here on my blog as I find time.

  4. Ike
    July 3, 2010 at 3:23 am

  5. July 6, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    WOW! So much beauty! And your girl is darn insightful! God made it out of nothing. Blows. My. Freaking. Mind.

  6. July 6, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    (hi!)

    • July 6, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      Well.. Hello! Good to see you back around. And, yes, my 12 year old is pretty bright. She is going to be a handful for her mother and I as she continues to learn and grow in knowledge. It is a challenge we welcome.

  7. July 6, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Love the pictures Tony. I also love how kids point out the obvious but not always realized.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

