Home > 2nd Chances > Who’s That Knocking At My Door?

Who’s That Knocking At My Door?

[tweetmeme source=”tonyyork” only_single=false]

My family was preparing to leave for the day to celebrate our nephew’s 3rd birthday when we noticed a red car pull up in front of the house.  Four people exited the car and made their way down the sidewalk away from my house.  They must have split up shortly after walking past our house because it wasn’t very long before two of them showed up again in front of the house and made their way to our front door.  I knew what was coming.

Jehovah Witnesses had descended upon our humble abode.

I think most people dread that inevitable ring of the doorbell, but I was glad that they showed up.  In fact, I was wishing that we didn’t have a time commitment to be with family so that I would have time to talk to the man and the lady who were now standing on my doorstep.

When I answered the door, the man stepped forward while the lady stared down at the sidewalk in front of her feet.  The man made some small talk about the wisteria that is growing beside our front stoop and then handed me a sheet of paper as an invitation to some function that they were holding in a city that is 100 miles away from my home.  He didn’t take the time to explain who they were or what the function was and all the while that he was making small talk and introducing the invitation to me, the lady continued to look at her feet.  I felt sympathy for both of them.. especially the lady.  I think they have experienced a lot of rejection in the process of their door-to-door witnessing.

I tried to make them feel at ease by explaining that I was familiar with Jehovah Witnesses because my mother-in-law had been one.  The lady glanced up for a second and there was a smile that crossed her face before she bowed her head again to continue her examination of my sidewalk.  Because I didn’t have much time to talk to them, I wanted to gauge as quickly as I could how much these two knew of their own church history and beliefs so I posed the following two issues that I have with the Jehovah Witness church:

  1. Prophecies of the Jehovah Witnesses of Christ’s return that have failed to come to fruition.
  2. The question of Christ’s deity as translated by the Watch Tower Society.

The man decided this was an invitation to refute the trinity and side-stepped the prophetic issues of the Watch Tower Society by saying those people are no longer part of the group.  I went along for the ride as he dismissed the argument for the trinity as there is only one God according to the bible.  I think he was surprised when I told him that I agreed with him that there was only one God but that I believed it was God’s desire to present Himself as God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.   We traded a few verses that lent support to our differing views and talked about what the Kingdom was and even broached some topics of eschatology.  He was unable to directly turn to any of the places in the bible that he was looking for except for the Lord’s Prayer as recorded in Matthew chapter 6.  He wanted to use that as a proof text that even Christ viewed the Father above himself and that there was only one God.

I asked him to open his bible (Watch Tower NWT translation) to Philippians 2:10-11 to see what was recorded there.:

so that at the name of Jesus EVERY KNEE WILL BOW, of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and that every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

I asked him how that verse corresponded with the Old Testament commandment that there should be no other gods before Jehovah.  I could see in his eyes that he didn’t have a ready answer for that question so I left both of them with the invitation to come back and visit with me again when we could have more time to sit down and talk. I shook his hand as he made a non-committal reply that they are always working “this territory”.  I also shook the lady’s hand and thanked her for stopping by.

I don’t know if they will come back.  I hope they will.  I have a lot of questions that I would like to ask them.  Maybe next time they will feel comfortable enough to share their names with me.

By the way, I found this link tonight that may help others who have questions about the issues with the Jehovah Witness faith: http://www.towerwatch.com/

  1. July 27, 2010 at 2:36 am

    Good post, Tony. I hope they come back. And if they do, I hope you let us in on the conversation.

  2. July 28, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    My brother has recently joined the Jehovah Witnesses… and it is a scary thing for me to watch. The brainwashing and isolation is blatantly obvious. I guess that’s the thing about deception… you don’t know when it’s happening to you.
    Thanks for the insight!

  3. July 29, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    I’ve been studying with the Jehovah Witnesses for 4 weeks now. Both women are very nice and geniunely love God. I just don’t see that they love the same God that I do. I also don’t see God judging me and condemning me to hell for not calling Him Jehovah when that’s a messed up translation of YHWH anyway!

    They also won’t let you pray around them. Which I think is totally inappropriate.

    • July 29, 2010 at 5:28 pm

      I would be very interested in how they respond to the varying ways that the Watch Tower society has decided to translate identical phrases in Greek… Or why approximately 1900 years had to pass before God decided that it was time to ‘fix’ the bible through more special revelation that counters passages in the same fixed bible.

      Or how they rationalize the editing and republishing of decades old books to change what they say… Or how they publicly call the United Nations the Anti-Christ yet the Watch Tower society was a sworn and pledged non-government member of the United Nations.

      How do they rationalize the many times that they prophesied Christ’s return and when it didn’t happen that they didn’t apply the scripture about false prophets to themselves.

      There’s is a religion that causes me to grieve because it is one based on being controlled by the church hierarchy instead of Christ.

  4. August 4, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Thank you Tony, I am going to print your responses. I need to write these on my heart and do a better job of being able to defend my faith. I have had a poor memory for apologetics. I pray I will continue to grow and be equipped where, as you did, provide the Word with the confidence and heart. Thanks for sharing!! I wouldn’t have answered the door and would have missed the opportunity to witness! I must be equipped.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

