Home > World Changers > Where the Rubber Meets the Road – Guest Post #2

Where the Rubber Meets the Road – Guest Post #2

[tweetmeme source=”tonyyork” only_single=false]

We have already had some great discussion starters in the first installment of this series.  Take a moment and read-comment-evaluate Amy’s thoughts here.

Let’s take a read through Jason’s thoughts below.  Also, please take a moment and visit his blog and encourage him in his endeavors to raise awareness of the human trafficking issues that affect so many around the world and here in the United States.

Introduce yourself in 25 words or less (we are all counting – some of us are borrowing our neighbors fingers or toes):

A survivor in Christ living in Nashville, TN with his wife Amy and kids Dale, Eli and Julie. Swedish Fish addict.

If you blog, what is your site URL and what is the emphasis behind your blog?

www.jcwert.com is the URL and I blog on just about everything but mostly issues related to faith.

Respond to the following the scenario:
I am a skeptical seeker who has just read Matthew 25:31-46 and you are the first person that I meet at your church on a Sunday morning and I ask you to explain these verses and show me how your community applies them.

(Tony, before I give an official answer, this is kind of a loaded question.  I’d never lecture someone in a one-on-one situation and this feels a bit like that.  So read this assuming I’d have a little more conversational interaction with this person. 🙂  If this was a real deal, I’d likely ask their take before giving mine…)

There are a lot of different ways people look at those verses.  Some believe it’s the final judgment.  Others believe it’s Jesus separating people based on how they treat their fellow Christians.  To be honest with you, I don’t really know which one is right and we probably won’t know until that day comes.  I know that’s not likely the direct answer you’re looking for but it’s just me being honest.

Now, when I look at it, I see the way Jesus wants us to live.  We’re to care for those in need and put others ahead of ourselves.  I just think if we let Christ renew us to be more like him we’ll want to be doing the things that he tells the sheep they’ve been doing even though they didn’t realize it.

If you look at our church you’ll see all kinds of folks giving of themselves and I’m not just talking about how thousands of us came together after the flooding here in Nashville.  We have folks who give up their evenings in the middle of the work week to spend the night at homeless shelters to help the staff.  We have a hope center downtown to help the homeless.  If you look around the lobby you’ll see former addicts who’ve had help to get clean, we’ve helped homeless folks find places to live…you’ll find all kinds of examples of our following Christ’s commands.

You’ll also see us fall short a lot of times.  We’re not perfect nor are we going to be.  We just try to do the best we can, learn from mistakes and strive to be more of the kind of person Christ wants us to be in that passage of Scripture.

What makes you come alive?

Christ’s a given and so is my family…so those aside, I’m fired up about writing and fighting against human trafficking.  There’s no reason that right now in the United States tens of thousands of women should be kept in sexual slavery.  Most people don’t even know that we have slaves in the US.  Right now, in Nashville where I live, there are dozens of women being forced into prostitution.  It makes me sick and it’s something that I want to wake up the church to fight.  Imagine the way we could abolish sex slavery if churches not only rose up to speak out against it but took care of the women being abused for money.  Provided them a safe place to live, job training, etc.  We have the ability to make a huge difference.  We need to rise up and do it!

  1. August 5, 2010 at 6:57 am

    Fish are friends, not food.

    (Even Swedish ones)

    • August 5, 2010 at 2:04 pm

      Tasty, tasty friends…

  2. August 5, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    After reading through Jason’s response, I decided to put myself into the skeptic’s shoes (he did say he would ask me for my thoughts had it been a real scenario). By the way, my following dialog goes to what kept me up at night considering these verses.
    ***********************************************************************************************
    The Skeptic’s Response:
    Why is it fair if neither group knew that they were supposed to be doing these things that they get judged by them? I, mean, isn’t this like some kind of test that you didn’t know you had to study for?

    Is this just some form of parable to cause people to react by doing the things your church is doing?

    Is that the motivation of Christianity – Do Good or Go to Hell?
    ***********************************************************************************************

    Anyone can chime in to answer the Skeptic’s response. I look forward to it 🙂

  3. August 5, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Is that the motivation of Christianity – Do Good or Go to Hell?

    Tony, I love what you have done here. And yes, Jason has to be brave 🙂

    But I would answer neither to that question. I would lovingly explain that it’s about serving and loving a God who deeply loves us.

    Just my two cents man. Really like what you have going on here.

  1. August 23, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Leave a Reply

