Home > 2nd Chances > Coming to an End

Coming to an End

I have a few more entries for the current series that I am posting.  I hope to put the latest edition out this weekend some time.

As I have been experiencing the usage of electronic media to ‘socialize’, communicate, or even ponder, it has become apparent to me that not all experiences were meant to last or to be sustainable.  I think I am in that place where I feel ok about unplugging from the need to check message statuses, twitter updates, and emails about things that don’t really carry a lot of weight in the real world.

Over the next few weeks I will begin to pare some of these things from my life so that I can focus on what is immediately in front of me.  I haven’t fully decided on the fate of this blog and I am going to give myself some more time to think on it as I conclude the Guest Blogger series.

Maybe these thoughts were born out of, or at least came to a fruition, within the context of studying Matthew 25.

Let me highlight some things that came to light while I was reading and meditating on that particular scripture.

I think the biggest thing that hit me was that neither the sheep nor the goats had any thoughts that they were missing the message of ‘feed the hungry, clothe the naked, visit the jailed’.  Both groups ask the same in question in different contexts.  “When did we do (or not do) these things for you?”  The simple fact was that there was no big program or scheduled activity for the church people to be busy at for Jesus when it came to these matters.  My opinion is that the sheep did these things as a natural part of the out-flowing love of Christ because they knew Christ and He dwelt in them.

Juxtapose that thought with the scripture in Matthew 7 where Christ says, “Many will tell me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, didn’t we prophesy in your name, in your name cast out demons, and in your name do many mighty works?”

I get the distinct image that there are going to be a lot of good intentioned folks some day who will stand before God and they will think that their busyness as VBS volunteers, church elders, soup kitchen workers, clothing gatherers –  or name any number of programs we create to reach the world in the name of Christ – will have meant something.  And yet Christ will look at them and say depart from me because I never knew you.

Are any of those things bad or wrong? Yes and No.  I mean, they won’t get you into heaven.. just look at those people in Matthew 7.  But, they are a means of showing love… just look at the sheep in Matthew 25 who didn’t know that they were even doing it.

So what do we do with this? I don’t know completely yet.. or may never know.

Maybe the American church needs to stop trying to create the next latest and greatest event/experience/program for Jesus.

Because He already did that on the Cross.  So maybe we need to be less about the glamor and more about authenticity.  Maybe we need more of Christ and less of man-made worship.

Maybe we need to learn to humble ourselves and worship God in all aspects of our lives as directed by scripture and the Holy Spirit.

But we don’t have time for that.  There is a program or discipleship class that needs our attention.

And I guess that brings me back to my thoughts on ‘coming to an end’.  I need to find time for the right things… the real things.

For the right reasons.

Categories: 2nd Chances Tags: ,
  1. August 8, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I didn’t realize you started this already. I love reading the other guest posts! THanks for doing this. I think it’s been a great read.

  2. August 8, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Oh, and I dig the new design:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

