Home > Life Thoughts > Did You Know That There is A 5:30am In The Day?

Did You Know That There is A 5:30am In The Day?

If you answered the question that I posed in the title to this post in the affirmative, you are a sick, sick, sinful person.

My children returned to school today following what must have been the fastest summer vacation ever recorded in the history of ‘summerdom’.  At least my two girls would sign any affidavit to that affect if asked their opinion on the matter.  I don’t know how it happens in other places of the world, but in our little slice of heaven, we have to get up at 5:30am… ack.. I just threw up a little in my mouth as I was typing that (fingers can’t puke so my throat and stomach had sympathy pains).

The buses (by the way.. why isn’t buses pronounced in the same manner as fuses?  You would think that it should be spelled busses.. but I digress).. as I was saying, the buses pick our darlings up around 6:30am so you can see why it is necessary to rise up so early.  I must mention this odd fact as well: the first day of bus pickup is like waiting for the cable guy to show up.  Pickup time is in the neighborhood of 6:22am to 6:35am but evidently you can still be standing in the driveway at 6:49am with your school bag, lunch bag, clarinet, and cross country gear with no sign of the bus.

Eventually, instead of waiting for the cable guy…err.. bus driver to show up for my second child, we threw her 250 pounds of gear into the car and I drove her to school.  That was at 6:50ish am.  By then I had been awake for almost 1 hour and 30 minutes.  That is so wrong.  I am not a morning person as attested to my staying awake until 1am last night, or uh, this morning in order to encourage the Reds onto a win over the Diamond Backs.  I hate those West Coast road trips because they mean the games start much later here on the East side of the country and, historically, the Reds haven’t done so well on those trips. The only good thing about my 270 minutes of sleep last night was that it was preceded by a Reds win which moved them 2 games ahead of those ugly birds from Missouri.

If you are reading this, I would like to know if you are a morning person, and if so, why in the name of all that is good would you admit to such a sinful practice?!

By the way.. I have a few more installments for the Rubber Meets the Road series.  I will get them out but I have been taking a much needed break from technology.  While I haven’t been writing, I still have been reading some blogs that make me think so take a spin through the following links to see who has been on my reading list lately.

http://www.52prayers.com/:  Jessica has been visiting and writing on her exposure to different faiths this year.  She is a smart cookie and brings to fore some great points of discussion within our American-Christian context.

http://jamesbrett.wordpress.com/: James is a missionary in Tanzania.. but more than that, he is a great writer and I like the quick and easy manner in which he tackles matters of faith and life.

http://randymorgan.wordpress.com/ : I met Randy in blogland and then had the pleasure to meet him in person while on vacation this year.  I really respect his approach to creating dialog about bringing the sacred and secular aspects of christian life into meaningful, kindom-bringing, lifestyle.  One day I hope to be in his neck of the woods again so that I can visit his community of believers.

  1. August 18, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    i have to admit/confess that i’m one of your early risers. i generally get up at 5:30. i like enjoying the quiet of morning with a pot of coffee while i read and write. and the quiet of the morning ends a little after 6:30 when my daughter (8 months) wakes up. we play until her mother feeds her an hour later. then i go running or finish writing.

    it also works well for my wife and i, because i don’t need a lot of sleep — so the earlier i get up in the mornings, the easier it is for us to go to bed at the same time. also, it doesn’t really make sense to sleep while the sun’s up in a generally outdoor culture in which electricity is never a given.

    now that i’ve responded with quite possibly the most boring comment in the history of 30 second rule… thanks for the link, tony.

    • August 19, 2010 at 12:19 pm

      Boring? No way.. now I know how your family makes it work in Tanzania.

      I think my problem with the early hour is that once I get going, I keep going… late. 1 or 2am is not an uncommon bedtime for me. It takes that long to wind down… but then, the body wants to recharge and 5:30am is just so ..well… early. Most of the time it is still dark here ate 5:30 in the morning. I can totally get the waking up with the sun… but even the sun is still sleeping at 5:30 here. 🙂

  2. August 18, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    I am one of the holy and righteous people who practice what jesus did and get up early in the morning. (i have yet though mastered His stay up all night to pray technique). My day starts at 3:00 with going to the office until 5 then on certain days heading to the Y. I then come back and study/research/write my sermons until 8 or 9 or until I see the secretary. Then it is all over. 🙂 I don’t require a lot of sleep and usually hit the sack around 9:30. I also ride my bike during my lunch hour. Wake up and smell the righteous way to live Tony!! I think I just beat James on length of boredom.

  3. August 19, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Bill,

    Your day starts when my previous day may still be going. Last night I was up past 1am watching the Reds play.. again. And, again, they won.. YAY. 3 games up on those ugly birds from Missouri.

    All I can say right now is.. where is the coffee?! 😉

  4. August 24, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    I am going to have to admit to being a morning person as well, but it started only out of necessity. I’m a runner and in order to get all the miles in I want, especially in the hot summer months, I have to rise early and get them done before work. Otherwise I have to run them in the afternoon and roast.

    I will say, however, that I have come to LOVE my early morning time, whether I am running, or sleepily making a pot of coffee to help me start my day.

    I can’t believe, however, that children have to get up that early. That is CRAZY! Are they completely exhausted by the time they get home?

    • August 24, 2010 at 5:05 pm

      Kids are amazing in that they adapt so quickly.. it also helps that we get them to bed between 8pm and 9pm.

      My daughter joined the cross country team this year so she is learning the ‘joys’ of running. So her day yesterday consisted of getting up at 5:30am, going to school until 3:30pm, back to practice at 6pm which completed at 8:30pm. I was wore out by just running her around in the evening.

      I hope she sticks with the running because it will help her in the general health category.. and maybe it will rub off on me. 🙂

      I got on the treadmill for the first time in years the other day and proceeded to bathe it in sweat.. much to my wife’s disgust.

      Maybe I will learn to enjoy getting up early everyday. 😉

  5. August 24, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    It looks like you may have to learn if you continue on with your daughter’s schedule! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

