Home > Church Hunt > On Introductions

On Introductions

I mentioned in my previous post that my family is checking out a new church.  I was encouraged to discover that the pastor of the church we are visiting has a blog.  I haven’t officially met Chris but I am getting a feel for who he is through his writings.  I would encourage you to visit his blog and encourage him in this new step that his church is taking: http://chrismcalisterblog.com/index.php

For those of you who read my blog from time-to-time, I am curious about your thoughts on two things:

  1. How much can a person know about another through their writing?
  2. If you were to have an afternoon to interview the pastor of a prospective church, what would be some questions that you would like to ask?

I look forward to your responses!!

  1. ds
    September 24, 2010 at 5:11 am

    You know… I find this topic fascinating because I’ve always told people, “Want to get to know me? Read my blog.”

    And I think I’m correct.

    I’m just a little embarrassed of my most recent post because I’m not sure I’d want that to be your first impression of me. This is encouraging to me to always remember that we don’t know who is watching or reading what we do online.

    • September 28, 2010 at 4:48 am

      I agree DS.. we never know. Makes me wonder how much we can be our real selves in these posts… and if we can’t, are we really accomplishing what we should.

  2. ike
    September 25, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Your “Reds” must face my Phillies:-)

    • September 28, 2010 at 4:49 am

      Uh oh.. Ike, That would be quite a match up. Of course, there is a chance that they wouldn’t meet if Phillies lose in the first round to the wild card team 🙂

  3. September 28, 2010 at 1:10 am

    Hey Tony

    Good to hear you guys felt comfortable. Hope you don’t mind me stopping by.

    I would ask a bunch of questions. I would want to know the church’s org structure, major teams, and how the financial process works.

    I would want to know about the pastor’s relational and family health.

    I would also want to know what the pastor’s primary passions are and does he make plans to accomplish those passions. I’ve been on both sides (pastoring and a member) and those are things that are on the top of mind as being critical. Oh yeah, I would probably want to know if he loves bbq. Because that could be a deal breaker 🙂

    • September 28, 2010 at 4:52 am

      Chris,

      Glad you stopped by and those are some great questions. Wonder if you might hear some of them once we get an opportunity to officially sit down and meet. Speaking of which – I don’t know your schedule outside of Sunday, but I work up near the Polaris mall and am very close to both City BBQ and Shanes. We should meet up for lunch when you have a free moment.

      • October 1, 2010 at 2:41 pm

        Tony

        Lunch sounds great. Love City but would like to try Shanes. Tuesday and Thursdays are when I get up there. Let me know a few that work for you and a time and it’s done.

        Chris

  4. ike
    September 29, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    I would want to know if the Church stood against the always encroaching man-centered doctrines which seek to turn the bride of Christ into a center for entertainining carnal men.

    Ultimately all that matters is the glory of God (Psalm 57:5). And God has ordained that He will receive most glory through His bride, the church (Ephesians 3:21). Restoring sound doctrine concerning the nature of conversion is foundational to being a church that brings the glory He deserves!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

