Home > Music > Mumford and Sons

Mumford and Sons

After spending some time listening to this group on YouTube, I decided to buy their album from iTunes.

I can say categorically that I like every song on the cd.  There is something about the bluegrass sound and the lead singer’s voice that connects with me.  Now for those of you who got scared away because I mentioned bluegrass – don’t.  Give it a listen.  Find a song or two on YouTube and see if it doesn’t grow on you.

I would suggest Sigh No More or Thistles and Weeds…. maybe Liar.  You can even find a post where they sing ‘Come Thou Fount’.

I am always up for suggestions on new music to take a listen to… so feel free to give me your suggestions.

  1. July 5, 2011 at 9:15 am

    Will have to give a listen Tony, even though my choice of music is rock. Stryper has a new one out called The Covering, where they do covers of Kansas and then the 80s metal and hair bands. Also just bought Journey’s new one. Other than one or two songs that I find blah due to philosophy, it is a good one. I am also listening some to Brooke Frasier, especially her worship music.

    • July 5, 2011 at 11:29 am

      Bill,
      I haven’t checked out Stryper in a long time. I may have to see how they do with covering the 80’s/hair bands as that is some of my wife’s favorite types of music. I wonder if any of that is on YouTube yet. I will give it a search and see what comes up. I am not sure if I have heard of Brooke Frasier or not.. will have to see what I can find on her as well.

      Totally didn’t realize that Journey was still making music… that could be interesting! 🙂

      • July 6, 2011 at 11:59 am

        Tony: their stuff is on youtube. Start with Carry on Wayward Son and move on from there. Brooke Frasier helps with Hillsong. She wrote and sings Hosanna, Lead Me to the Cross and a host of others. i wish they would just put out a worship CD of her music. She is also a top singer in NZ pop. check her out for a change of pace. Journey has a new singer, Arnel Pineda, that nails it. Their first release was a double CD, with one being old standards redone by him. He does a powerful Open Arms. The second Cd was all new material. This new one is good as well.

  2. July 6, 2011 at 7:53 am

    tony, i love mumford and sons. they’re my second most listened to music at this time. if you like them, you might also like these (i’m just throwing out a bunch and surely you already listen to some of them) — some have more bluegrass than others (some none), but they all have something about them that i figure mumford and sons fans might like:

    – bon iver
    – the xx
    – the avett brothers
    – old crow medicine show
    – the wailin’ jennys
    – the good be tanyas
    – punch brothers

    • July 6, 2011 at 2:44 pm

      I have heard of some of these, Brett… but not all. I really like Old Crow Medicine Show and Punch Brothers. The Good Be Tanyas and the Wailin Jennys are good as well. Avett brothers, I believe, were on the Grammys with Mumford & Sons… and they have a laidback sound. Bon Iver was a new one for me and I will have to give them more listens to see if I like anything of theirs. XX has an interesting sound…. again, I would have to give them more listens to give them a fair shake.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

