Home > Life Thoughts > More, again, please!

More, again, please!

Recently, I found myself recalling a time when my eldest daughter was just about a year old and my wife was feeding her cantaloupe.  My daughter was enjoying the fruit so much that she became upset when a piece fell from the fork and landed on the floor instead of making it into her mouth.

She began to wail incessantly.  My wife and I found the situation hysterical because our daughter had never shown this type of passion for food in her short life.  We also understood something that she didn’t – we had more cantaloupe to give her.  The piece on the floor was not the last piece.

During my recollection, I found myself desiring to hold the 1 year old daughter from my memory once again.  As I thought about this desire, I became aware of a distinction between wanting to hold her more and hold her again.

The word more seemed to communicate that there had been a lack of something that needed to be filled while the word again seemed to communicate a desire to celebrate something that had been a joy to experience in the past.

Some examples may drive these concepts home:

  • “I wish I had more money… “
  • “I would like to visit Disney world again…”
  • “Can I have more cheese on my spaghetti…”
  • “Daddy, throw me in the air again…”

My desire to hold my daughter in my past was not born from a regret that I had not held her enough at that time in our lives, but instead it was the celebration of how wonderful it had been to experience those moments when she had been small enough to fit in my arms and rest there comfortably.

Our lives are full of moments that we feel lack or the need for more.  But they are also full of moments that we can look forward to the ‘agains’.

What are some things that you are looking to celebrate? What would you like to do again?  These seem to be positive questions.  And while noticing a lack of something can be negative, it can also be an opportunity to realize more. I have found that in Christ I can have abundantly more.  That is something that I can celebrate again and again.

So what do you find yourself wanting to do again?

  1. October 11, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Celebrate? My 50th wedding anniversary (we are at 38). I would love to celebrate my oldest getting married, but that is in God’s hand. Again? Time spent riding my bike with friends of days gone by. the birth of both my girls. The time in ’99 when worship became real to me and I had a closeness to Jesus that I had never had before or since.

    • October 17, 2011 at 5:42 pm

      Bill,

      Awesome on the years you and your wife (Jo) have spent together celebrating the Agains. I would be interested in why ’99 was so special in your worship.

  2. October 11, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    A few summers ago I canoed a number of times. I love canoeing rivers. I want to do it again. Soon. I know hobbies are important.

    I also love snow skiing. I haven’t been in 10 years. Thanks for the permission to “want’

    • October 17, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      Chris,

      Canoeing and Snow Skiing.. love them both. Just not at the same time 🙂

      If you decide to celebrate skiing this winter, let me know and I could be interested in helping you celebrate it.

  3. October 12, 2011 at 3:11 am

    Not only do I want to do all the fun things in life again, I want to remember them. My life is full of kids and chaos. I want to build MORE memories so I can be reminded of them AGAIN and AGAIN.

    • October 17, 2011 at 5:46 pm

      Jon,

      Kids and Chaos seem to go hand-in-hand… in a good way. Maybe they remind us that what we think is the correct order isn’t necessarily what is.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

