Home > Life Thoughts > Learning to Run

Learning to Run

I am 40 years old.  And I am a biscuit shy of 300 pounds.

So what has possessed me to to start running?  I can tell you it is not a sudden urge to join a marathon or find my twenties.  I am not having a mid-life crisis and there is no new love to impress.

I am learning the ‘joys’ of running as a way to encourage my daughter to keep up her running regime now that her Cross Country season is over.  She is much better at this than I am as she has had two seasons to learn how to run longer distances and has spent the last 12 weeks working out every day.  Life lesson coming ahead – even those who are more experienced or seasoned still need encouragement from time-to-time.

While I am doing my best to be an encouragement to her and not an anchor that she has to worry about putting CPR into practice over, I am learning a few things about running that apply to life:

  • It is easy to be energetic and passionate during those first few steps.  I can run with the best of them for about 10 steps.
  • It can be very tempting to give up when you realize this ‘run’ is work and is getting harder than it was at the beginning.  After about 2 tenths of a mile, I am trying to figure out where I coughed up my lung.  It would be so much easier to stop running, lay down on the ground, and call 911 for emergency oxygen than to take one more step.
  • Picking milestones helps to break up the bigger run and keeps my spirits up.  I have to pick a point about 10 yards ahead and say, “I can make it that far”, and then set the next 10 yard mark after I attain that goal.  If I thought about the mile mark when I was still in the first quarter mile, it would be too easy to be overwhelmed at what I am trying to accomplish.
  • Keeping a record of how I am progressing from day-to-day, gives me perspective into how I am growing.  Setting up some ‘Ebenezer Stones’ called statistics lets me know where I was yesterday, where I am at today, and where I can be tomorrow.

These are some early lessons that I have learned as I have just started on this course of action.  I may gain some more insight if I survive the next couple of weeks and I may even post some statistics once I have enough to tell a story.

Categories: Life Thoughts Tags: , , ,
  1. October 18, 2011 at 10:49 am

    I agree that setting small goals (milestones) helps us make to the end of the run.

    • October 19, 2011 at 12:31 am

      I ran on the treadmill tonight. It was simply awful… no matter if I set small goals are not, the ‘artificiallness’ of being on that suck machine was torture. I also made the mistake of trying to ‘fit’ a mile in after just eating dinner 30 minutes before…. never going to do that again.

      • October 20, 2011 at 10:13 pm

        To me, running on a treadmill has the same motivation as riding a bike on a trainer. I think I would rather watch grass grow. Least you can sit down. Keep up the good work though Tony. You will be glad you did in the long run. Sort of like our faith.

      • October 24, 2011 at 12:18 pm

        Thanks, Bill.

        So far the weather has cooperated enough for me to ‘run’ outside. (There was one day where I nearly turned to an icicle while running into a wet head wind). In 1 week I have been able to take about a minute off of my time for a mile run and I am not coughing my lungs out each run now. Still have a long way to go but it is going well.

  2. October 18, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    Great lessons. So applicable for lots of portions of our life.

    • October 19, 2011 at 12:33 am

      Two more lessons learned tonight that can apply to life:

      Trying to replace the real thing with an artificial replacement isn’t as enjoyable or beneficial of an experience.

      AND

      Trying to fit important activities in to a busy schedule in the wrong order can lead to indigestion!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

