Home > Monday Morning Musings > Monday Morning Musings #3

Monday Morning Musings #3

[tweetmeme source=”the30secondrule” only_single=false]

Welcome to week 3 of my asinine questions.

I brought the following question up during a Wednesday night men’s bible study that I have belonged to for about 3 years now.  The question:

When we reach heaven, will we still have freewill to choose?

That question needs a little fleshing out to make more sense, so consider these points:

  • This question is about the ability to choose to obey or not
  • Heaven in our minds is purportedly perfect and free from sin
  • Angels appear to have freewill as Lucifer and the third of the heavens that were cast out should attest
  • What do our thoughts on this question say about our beliefs on the character of God?

So, do we lose freewill? Or is it more of the fact of having lived a life here on the fallen earth that by comparison there really is no choice as it would be like choosing between a plate of dog feces or brownies for dessert?

Feel free to weigh in on your thoughts.  Don’t be afraid to tell me if you feel this is a silly question that needs no answer.

  1. October 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Will a simple I don’t know suffice. That sounds better than doesn’t really matter to me because i am already there. 🙂

    • October 24, 2011 at 2:22 pm

      Bill.. of course that is an acceptable answer.

      I have a sneaky suspicion, however, that you don’t really leave your contemplations on heaven to a simple – “I am already there”. You will have millennium upon a millennium to enjoy heaven and there has to be something that you will hope to enjoy.

  2. Zee
    October 24, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Hmm… That is actually an interesting question – I never thought of it before!

    I guess we still shall have our free will – otherwise, our love for Him and our worship would be forced – and while I don’t pretend I know God 100% well, I know one thing – He values REAL allegiance and love, not something that has been forced.

    • October 24, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      Zee,

      Really, really like this response. It goes to a character trait of God being the perfect Father. He has demonstrated His love but will not force our reciprocation.

  3. October 24, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    I’ll let you know when I get there.

    Seriously, I believe it will be perfect but I also believe we can grow. How that works I don’t know. I believe there will be adventure, passion, and desire so we will not be robots.

  4. ike
    December 5, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    We are always free to do what our hearts desire. Fallen man follows the desires of his heart which always leads to death. A bad tree cannot bear good fruit, neither can a good tree bear bad fruit. Man cannot free himself or change his own heart. His will is in bondage to sin apart from Christ.

    When a person is born again he receives a new nature….. One that now seeks after God. But our obedience and desire for God in this life (sanctification) will not be perfected until our final glorification.

    In heaven (in the presence of Christ), we will be perfected and finally glorified. We will posses true “free will” in that our nature will be totally freed from all remnants of sin. Our hearts will always and only freely want and loveJesus. We will be totally free.

    Interestingly, the most free Being in the universe is God. If anyone has free will, He does. And God cannot sin, nor is He tempted to sin. Far from making us robots….this is true biblical freedom.

  5. March 1, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I think that there will be free will, but I hope that what is gone is the temptation to misuse it.

    <

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

